We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced for what you get” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Columbia River

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Columbia River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Columbia River
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3420 Leif Erickson Drive, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Astoria
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Way overpriced for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great location right on the Columbia River about a mile out of town, but easy access via the main road or the trolley or bike path that runs right behind the hotel. But it is very dated, and although recently remodeled has horrible colors (darkish brown walls) and ill-fitting furniture. The breakfast buffet is limited and on the cheap side. Not a good deal for the price by any means. If you do have to stay there make sure you get an upper floor riverside room, otherwise you are bound for a big letdown.

Room Tip: Third floor with a river view is the only good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Rim, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice place to spend and evening in Astoria, Oregon. The staff was very helpful. Especially, when we ha problems getting on the WI FI service. The breakfast was good...more than enough for a morning.

Since this hotel is located at the other end of Astoria from most of the hotels and motels, it was a the end of the line for the free Trolley ride and near the docks. The sea lions are located down here on the docks. Better than a visit to the zoo. They were very entertaining.

It was very early in the Salmon fishing season, so things were busy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay here frequently for business. The hotel has been newly remodeled with extensive work done on the outside and nicely updated rooms. The backside has great views of the beautiful Columbia River and the sea lions are always entertaining. Great amenities including 24 hour pool, laundry room, and a complementary breakfast. The rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. Easy access to the River walk for exercise or River side strolls. Best of all is a very friendly staff, great service and a very reasonable cost for the area.

Room Tip: River view rooms are worth the price difference. In room fan units work well to block out Sea Lions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel so the boys could go salmon fishing. The hotel was beautiful and very comfortable. It is a bit further down the road through town, but Astoria isn't very big so it wasn't a problem. There was a Safeway next door which was great for Starbucks in the morning. My sister-in-law left their window open and they could hear the seals barking all night. It kept her son from sleeping well. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the river side with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights on our vacation.
The main criterion for us is an indoor pool, waffles on the breakfast bar,
and child-friendly TV, as we have a special needs child, and those are
things that matter to her. This hotel provided all of that.
The staff here was friendly. The location was good for our needs.
It was clean, except for some stains on our carpet. The laundry
room is small, but all machines work. Half way through vacation, I needed
those! Safeway is right next door, so getting laundry soap, etc was easy.
If you want a great view of the water, get a back side room. We enjoyed watching the
barges and fishing boats, seeing and hearing the sea lions, and watching the
trolley. We made use of the free wifi.
I thought the rates were pricey, but competitive for the area and level of hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor, bay side for great water view, if you don't mind hearing the seal lions (we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here one night. It was a very nice room by the Columbia River. They had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable: complimentary breakfast, pool, wifi, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and comfortable bed. There is a river walk behind the Inn where we saw sea lions on a dock.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here one night as we traveled down the Oregon Coast. It was a very nice room by the Columbia River. The room had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable (complimentary breakfast, pool, tv, wifi, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, friendly helpful staff, and comfortable bed. They even had pillow choices, firm or soft. There was a river walk behind the Inn where we went for a stroll while we did laundry (even had a laundry room). There were sea lions on a dock a short walk away. We were entertained by them for quite a while. We didn't want to spend as much as we did because of the length of our trip, but were very pleased with everything.

Room Tip: The end room was large, But ask for room in back if you want a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kourtney S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia River, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kourtney Scott
Front Desk Manager
Comfort Suites Columbia River
503-325-2000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Columbia River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Columbia River

Address: 3420 Leif Erickson Drive, Astoria, OR 97103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Columbia River 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Columbia River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Columbia River Hotel Astoria
Comfort Suites Astoria
Astoria Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Columbia River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.