We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Noisy Sea Lions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Columbia River

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Columbia River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Columbia River
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3420 Leif Erickson Drive, Astoria, OR 97103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Astoria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Noisy Sea Lions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was undergoing renovations... We asked for one of the newer rooms and were given room #326 (2 queens - renovation rate was $89). We also requested a quiet room but I am not sure that they exist. FYI - behind the hotel are docks & rocky reefs which are totally covered with barking sea lions (24/7). Ear plugs worked well to drown out the barking.
The room was clean, comfy and partially updated.... The beds and bedding were quality, smaller flat screen TV, a nice sitting area (although poor lighting), bathroom not renovated and very basic and the room needs more electrical outlets. Continental breakfast offered many choices and the area was kept very clean. Staff was helpful and friendly. Hotel location is great... A short walk will take you to the docks where you can watch the sea lions and eat/drink at the Rogue Brewery. Next door is a Safeway with a Starbucks and gas pumps.
We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is an easy to find, river front property sitting along a footpath into town. The lobby is small with friendly front desk staff ready to check in guests. There's a coffee station in the lobby stocked all day with surprisingly good coffee! (Fresh baked cookies are also available in the evenings, but I only saw them out when I was already full from dinner in town.)
The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The beds have both soft and firm pillows to choose from. The windows effectively muffle the sound of sea lions barking on the pier, but I actually found the sound relaxing. Were it not cold outside, I would sleep with the window open since the non-stop chatter of the sea lions make a nice white noise. If you bring leftovers home from any one of the excellent restaurants in Astoria, rooms have mini fridges and microwaves. Forgot a fork? Ask for one at the front desk and they'll help you out.
We stayed in a spa king suite and the tub was fabulous. For guests in rooms without the spa tub, there's a jacuzzi near the pool. Both jacuzzi and pool are nice and warm in well maintained facilities. There's also a sauna, but it takes a while to heat up.
Breakfast is served contintental-style in the dining room until 10am. Choose between various cereals, fresh waffles, whole fruit, biscuits and gravy, toast/english muffins, juice, more of the surprisingly good coffee, peeled hard boiled eggs, yogurt and cheese. It's quite a selection! Really, the only thing missing is bacon.
I enjoyed my stay at the Comfort Suites and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view-- it's worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We booked 2 rooms with 1 king size bed and a jetted tub for my sister and I to get away for the weekend with our men (each couple had their own room) - WOW! First of all, Kitsy, who helped us book the room was SO helpful! She made our reservations easy and quickly and was so sweet! Then, when we checked in, she had made notes to put us in side-by-side rooms, which was great :) They also told us about several awesome local places to eat, and gave us a coupon! We went to dinner and enjoyed 15% off our (very expensive) dinner! :D The pool was open nice and late, and was very welll kept and quiet. The rooms were so pretty, clean and comfy! My man and I spent a lot of time just sitting in the tub watching TV, it was so relaxing and romantic! Even with all the construction and renovations going on, we never heard anything and everything in the hotel was still accessable. We also LOVED having the seals in the harbor RIGHT outside our window! Very cool! Breakfast in the morning was AMAZING! We were considering going out, but after seeing what was offered, we enjoyed amazing breakfast while watching the news in the breakfast room! Fruit, pancakes, waffles, biscuits and gravy, cereal, yogourt, coffee, juice - and SO much more! It was awesome! I recommend that ALL my friends stay here! Everything about it, from the rooms, to the food, to the staff, the ammenities, etc are all wonderful! :) Cant wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: The jet tub rooms are AWESOME
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Comfortable clean rooms! The view from the room was beautiful! The location is wonderful there is a walking path right behind the hotel which is perfect to take your dog for a nice stroll downtown. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I booked this hotel via another mystery "Express" hotel booking via priceline.com. My $69 plus $15 in taxes and fees let me to this property. It is rated as a 2.5 star. I will highlight pros and cons.

PROS.

Check in staff appeared well informed about the city and were efficient upon arrival. The room is spacious with a separate pull out couch/sitting area with flat screen TV. Room has a coffee maker, microwave and mini fridge. Internet and parking are both complimentary. There is also a largely carbohydrate infused complimentary breakfast which has pastries, a waffle maker, fruit, yogurt, toast, muffins, juice, coffee, etc. It is enough to start your day. There are also free daily newspapers available in the lobby. Hotel amenities also include a fitness room and pool/spa.

CONS

The hotel is undergoing renovation (top floor as of this writing FEB 2014), and you will encounter noise during the day. The rooms are slightly worn of age, so the renovation does have the promise of moving this hotel property up in the ratings when they are complete. The hotel is nicely located next to a Safeway grocery store and gas bar, for convenience shopping. The bad news is that his hotel is long walk from downtown if you are traveling without a car, though I expect the majority of Astoria travelers such as myself arrive via car.

Lastly, be prepared to hear the sea lions barking at all hours of the night. These animals are a natural part of the ecology of this place, so you are warned. I found it quaint but others from the larger inland cities may not enjoy this. Not a big deal to me, and you can see these marine animals all over the place here in Astoria.

For the money, this is a decent place. It will be even better when their renovations are completed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the extreme east side of the property: they are slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We traveled to Astoria for the first time and stayed at the Comfort Suites. The hotel was situated right on the Columbia River. The bed was very comfortable and the room clean and spacious. The staff were very helpful and even welcomed our dog. I would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepak P, General Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia River, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Comfort Suites on the Columbia River in beautiful Astoria, Oregon! It has been a fantastic weekend, and we are so glad to share it with so many wonderful people.

Thanks again!

Kitsy Brown Mahoney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was obviously purchased by Comfort Suites and they just threw on some paint and wallpaper to try to make it look nicer. Didn't work. Run down and the room was smelly. Price was decent and it was on the river so was good location.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Columbia River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Columbia River

Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Columbia River Hotel Astoria
Comfort Suites Columbia River Hotel
Comfort Suites Astoria
Astoria Comfort Suites
Address: 3420 Leif Erickson Drive, Astoria, OR 97103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Columbia River 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Columbia River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Columbia River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.