We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff, Tired Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Riverplace Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #65 of 131 Hotels in Jacksonville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Tired Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff of this hotel could not have been nicer. I wish the quality of the rooms matched the quality of the staff. We reserved a king bed with river view. The view was good, the sleep was not. The ac kept me awake all night as it cycled on and off. It was a free standing type like you would see in a roadside motel. It was loud. The mattress was made of foam and quite interesting to sleep on. I've learned that I do not like a foam mattress. The sheets were scratchy. Towels were worn. Bathroom was tiny! We ended up switching hotels after the first night and were able to get a room at the Hyatt. The Hyatt was much nicer, and of course it cost more, but was worth it. I actualy thought that I was booking the Hyatt when I booked this hotel. I had stayed at a riverfront hotel in Jacksonville years before. Turns out I had stayed at the Hyatt. Sorry Crowne Plaza! Everyone was so nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Terri879,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your comments about the AC unit in the room and the towels have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    154
    118
    54
    36
See reviews for
75
142
44
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was here on a video shoot. Got a room overlooking the river and was able to get beautiful timelapse shots of downtown Jacksonville from my balcony. Hotel had great food - almost too good as it houses the best restaurant in the Jacksonville area, Ruth's Chris Steak House. My travelling work clothes didn't quite meet the standards of the other restaurant patrons although the maitre d' assured me I was fine with a collared shirt and chinos. The bar had the same menu and a more relaxed atmosphere so I ate there instead. The strip of restaurants on the opposite bank are within walking distance across the bridge or you can take a water taxi directly there from a dock on the waterfront side of the hotel. Ample parking available at the hotel. Staff were very helpful. Room may have been getting a little long in the tooth but the view compensated for any minor flaws.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here with my husband over the weekend and from start to finish it was nothing but a pleasure. Our first room was lovely but after our first night we found that the air conditioner wasn't working. The front office manager Latoya J. immediately sent us an onsite technician. While Mr. Randall worked on the air we were very grateful to receive a complimentary breakfast at the hotel restaurant. After trying TWO different air conditioning units the staff gave us a new room with a riverfront view. The dedicated work of Mr. Randall and Mrs. Latoya really impressed me and made our trip great. Having worked in customer service in retail for years I am always blown away when I receive excellent service. The staff and location was lovely and we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about the staff of the hotel. I will make sure that they are recognized for their service.
Kindest Regards
Shawn Frisbee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The front desk staff was professional and very helpful throughout our stay. When we arrived at our room, we decided that we would like the view away from the bridge. I called the front desk and the desk staff changed our room immediately and another employee met us at the new room with our new key cards. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are spacious. The beds are memory foam. The hotel is going through a renovation. Ask for a room that is two floors away from that area due to noise. This hotel is very accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on the east side of the hotel. They are renovating some of the floors so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here with my sister and some friends. We were celebrating her 21st birthday and they have us the best room ever!! top floor, right by elevators, King Suite with balcony and the view was awesome!!!! (pics attached)

Room Tip: high floor, king junior suite is best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

First I called to ask if I would have a king bed. The women assured me I'd at least have a queen. We check in and are told all they have is double beds? After explaining the reaso for my trip here is to see my husband that's been deposited since December the women al of a sudden found a king bed available. I thought great! Got into the room and its old, new bedding not bed. Definitely not tempur Pedic. The tag on it reads 1997! Yikes. Tiny bathroom, no counter space. I didn't bring my own blow dryer because all room are equity with them. Except the one provided seems to be from 1980's. no robes in the room. Pool towel are also provided at the pool. Gross!! Stains on most of them. Not to mention there the size of a hair towel. Very sad I expected a fabulous hotel. But not even close. I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryBoat, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I apologize we did not live up to your expectations. Our TempurPedic mattresses are a big hit with our guests. All of our king beds feature the TempurPedic DreamSpa mattress and our double beds feature Serta Sleepers with pillow-top. While we just replaced all of our bed linens and pillows this year, our mattresses were replaced less than five years ago. We take guest feedback seriously and will address your concerns as a management team as we continuously improve the hotel. We would love to have the opportunity to host you again. Please contact me directly should you consider staying with us again.

With hospitality,
Kerry Boatwright
kboatwright@cpjacksonville.com
904.398.8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I spent three nights here in June-2013 while attending a union convention. They could not have chosen a better location. It was reasonably priced, the rooms and the beds were comfortable, and the hotel grounds and facilities were great. The staff was very friendly and helpful....very professional. The only SNAFU was when I checked in late at night, and James....the front desk clerk....was unaware that I had called about bringing my two rabbits (service animals). He decided to switch my room, which was fine. However, I was promised a refridgerator by the reservation people, and there were none to be had. James also suggested that the two well behaved and trained rabbits should be locked in a cage while in the room. He was very polite, but not friendly; and his suggestion did not go over very well with me. Other than that; I would definitely stay here again. Two thumbs up!!
(\ (\
( -.-)
o_(")(")

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryBoat, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your glowing review with us and your fellow travelers! I’m so happy you enjoyed our location, pricing, and facilities. I apologize for any snafu regarding your service animals. We are not used to hosting rabbits in the hotel, but enjoyed seeing their cute faces around! We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

With hospitality,
Kerry Boatwright
kboatwright@cpjacksonville.com
904.398.8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel

Address: 1201 Riverplace Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront is a downtown hotel where an exceptional locale blends with an array of amenities, personable service, and a better night's sleep. The hotel features all non-smoking guest rooms with walk-out balconies, stunning views, complimentary wireless internet, and TempurPedic Mattresses in king rooms. Amenities include two restaurants and bars including Ruth’s Chris Steak House. Additional dining options include a Starbucks and room service. The hotel also features a riverfront pool and 24-Hour, complimentary business and fitness centers. With the perfect combination of amenities and services, all you'll have to do is sit back, relax, and indulge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville
Jacksonville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.