We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Riverplace Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #64 of 131 Hotels in Jacksonville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Hotel charges $10 parking, rooms are small, hotel front desk not fimilar with area, new people training. Great value, had a great room with view of river, kids spent lots of time on the balcony .. Room service was great , making sure the kids got what they wanted to eat. great acces to river walk and jax landing..
Not too many family food places close by. Beware of open acess internet, one of my pc was attacked..

Would stay again,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPjacksonville, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences. Your comments will be evaluated with our team as we are always open to feedback from our guests in order to improve for the future. We hope to serve you and your family soon!

With hospitality,
Kerry Boatwright
kboatwright@cpjacksonville.com
904.398.8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    149
    106
    51
    36
See reviews for
69
134
43
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Booked through priceline.com negotiator for steal of a deal. We had 2 double beds but they moved us to king and river view because we asked nicely! Great service great room with big flat screen. Plus we didn't have to pay to park! Awesome!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPjacksonville, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you so much for the stellar review of our hotel! Our goal is to always exceed the expectations of our guests and I am elated we were able to do so during your stay. We look forward to hosting you during future visits to Jacksonville!

With hospitality,
Kerry Boatwright
kboatwright@cpjacksonville.com
904.398.8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I was a little disappointed with the Hotel itself, it is not a typical Crown Plaza as the rooms are small, bathrooms extremely small. The hotel's look is a little dated and the noise was terrible in the rooms. You can hear anything that happens in the halls just normal talking can be heard. Enough of the negatives, the Staff was excellent which helped make the stay a little better. The bar was great, but a little crowded and needed more space a well. the food was excellent, the on site steak house ( ruth chris ) was one of the best steaks i have ever had. The seafood house ( I think the whaler) was excellent as well. The beds were comfortable and after the noise died down the sleep was great. We had group rate pricing which made it a value, otherwise at regular rates, i would stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

My spouse and I stayed here after the James Taylor concert in DT Jacksonville. The room was super clean and in perfect order. At breakfast our server Heather was outstanding - she was genuinely sweet and attentive. The breakfast buffet was really good and include made to order omlets & pancakes.

The most pleasant surprise of our stay was the valet staff. We had left our Excursion with them before the concert because it was full of expensive equipment. We didn't think to tell them that we were staying there. When we returned in our other vehicle, they had our Excursion parked in front of hotel awaiting our arrival! They didn't even know we were guests, and they looked after our Excursion like we were VIP's. They knew we were concerned about the equipment and kept it parked right by their booth the rest of the night. When we left the next day, the valet even asked how the concert went.

Now that's great service!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPjacksonville, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor for future guests to see. Your thoughts will be shared with Heather and members of our valet team. Our team truly cares about our guests and are trained to treat each guest as a VIP! We hope to host you during future concerts in the area!

With hospitality,
Kerry Boatwright
kboatwright@cpjacksonville.com
904.398.8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Began with the unappealing hotel interior. Very confused front desk person. Got suggestions from bellman/concierge whom had a fist full of cards to give for locations where he got credit for sending us. Off to "the landing" UGH. Stop recommending this as a "highlight of the city". Room outdated, loud as you can hear everything in the halls and outside,balcony; paint chipping, nasty indoor/outdoor carpeting, that smelled horrible. Walls and furniture old and abused. Bathroom towels felt like sand paper, for real! Nice 42 " TV, minimal viewing choices. Not even basic cable. Went to the unimpressive hotel bar, which we were the only ones there at 4pm so you might think the bartender would be happy to see us. She wasn't, and a bit put off that we wanted to order appetizers. Best part of the hotel was Ruth's Chris, which are just tenants, but maybe there should be some training from them. We should have stayed anywhere else. We get away, once every 2-3 yrs. Completely disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Have stayed here on more than one ocassion for business and leisure. This is my preferred hotel because the following: Beds are the most comfortable, view is the best of all downtown hotels hands down, new flat screen TV with hi-def channels, covered parking here is the cheapest $10.00, FREE high-speed wifi throughout the hotel, RUTH CHRISS is the best, the pool is large, and it is the least hectic because it is across the bridge. Yes its an older hotel but so is OMNI and Hyatt and THEY still have bubble TV's and look old - so my point is don't be fooled into thinking the others are sooo much better. I agree that Crown needs to freshen the place up but it is apparent that they are doing just that. My only gripe is I use to come here when it was a Hilton and really miss the jacuzzi. But overall, love this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPjacksonville, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
I appreciate not only your kind words, but also your loyalty to our hotel. Your unbiased and honest look in to our hotel will be appreciated by future guests as well. I look forward to hosting you again soon!
With hospitality,
Kerry Boatwright
kboatwright@cpjacksonville.com
904.398.8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Wonderful staff at the front desk. Housekeeping staff always said hello. Great location. Carpet and property as a whole appeared worn. Still nice, would stay again in a heartbeat but worn. I had neighbors who were a little loud at night but not excessive.

Location is wonderful for anyone who likes to walk. I walked across the bridge to the riverfront area and thoroughly enjoyed myself. I felt safe as a solo traveler.

The Ruth Chris Steakhouse located on the property had a great bartender.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel

Address: 1201 Riverplace Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront is a downtown hotel where an exceptional locale blends with an array of amenities, personable service, and a better night's sleep. The hotel features all non-smoking guest rooms with walk-out balconies, stunning views, complimentary wireless internet, and TempurPedic Mattresses in king rooms. Amenities include two restaurants and bars including Ruth’s Chris Steak House. Additional dining options include a Starbucks and room service. The hotel also features a riverfront pool and 24-Hour, complimentary business and fitness centers. With the perfect combination of amenities and services, all you'll have to do is sit back, relax, and indulge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville
Jacksonville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.