We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is everyone complaining?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Riverplace Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #65 of 131 Hotels in Jacksonville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Why is everyone complaining?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Have stayed here on more than one ocassion for business and leisure. This is my preferred hotel because the following: Beds are the most comfortable, view is the best of all downtown hotels hands down, new flat screen TV with hi-def channels, covered parking here is the cheapest $10.00, FREE high-speed wifi throughout the hotel, RUTH CHRISS is the best, the pool is large, and it is the least hectic because it is across the bridge. Yes its an older hotel but so is OMNI and Hyatt and THEY still have bubble TV's and look old - so my point is don't be fooled into thinking the others are sooo much better. I agree that Crown needs to freshen the place up but it is apparent that they are doing just that. My only gripe is I use to come here when it was a Hilton and really miss the jacuzzi. But overall, love this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPjacksonville, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
I appreciate not only your kind words, but also your loyalty to our hotel. Your unbiased and honest look in to our hotel will be appreciated by future guests as well. I look forward to hosting you again soon!
With hospitality,
Kerry Boatwright
kboatwright@cpjacksonville.com
904.398.8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    154
    118
    54
    36
See reviews for
75
142
44
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Wonderful staff at the front desk. Housekeeping staff always said hello. Great location. Carpet and property as a whole appeared worn. Still nice, would stay again in a heartbeat but worn. I had neighbors who were a little loud at night but not excessive.

Location is wonderful for anyone who likes to walk. I walked across the bridge to the riverfront area and thoroughly enjoyed myself. I felt safe as a solo traveler.

The Ruth Chris Steakhouse located on the property had a great bartender.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Extra charge for parking, Extra charge for this, Extra charge for that...I felt cheated and all for a hotel that could generously be described as mediocre. The staff were not friendly, the tub had hair in it, the lamp didn't work, the room was noisy both from the inside hallway and the city outside, the balcony railing was broken and worst of all there was no breakfast. I've had better stays at budget hotels out on the Interstate. I will never stay at this Crowne Plaza in Jacksonville again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPjacksonville, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Mr. Heize,

I am very disappointed to hear we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us.

To address your concerns, we offer many complimentary services that our downtown competitors do not – such as a complimentary 24-hour business center, complimentary printing, and complimentary wired and wireless internet in every room. The only additional charge you may have occurred would be for parking. We are a full service riverfront hotel in downtown Jacksonville and like others in the area, we do charge for covered parking in our garage or optional valet. Even then, we offer the most affordable parking options.

I also apologize you were not aware of our breakfast offerings, but we do indeed offer some great options for our guests. Our most popular offering is a full menu and full buffet in The American Grill – with cooked to order omelets, pancakes, French toast, etc. An additional option would be our onsite Starbucks Coffee Bar, and room service. All of these are open daily.

It’s most disheartening to hear of comments regarding an unfriendly staff. We take great pride in providing exceptional service on a friendly and personal level and I will address your concerns with our team.

Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With hospitality,
Janice Dailey
Director of Sales & Marketing
jdailey@cpjacksonville.com
904.398.8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bentonville AR
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

In reality this is not a 4 star hotel, it has some of the features of a 4 star but it loses out on dates room design and very poor sound insulation.

Firstly the good, parking is easy and the location is good for downtown Jax. Cannot be bettered. Reception were welcoming and cheery and I was given a 9th floor room over looking the river. Room furnishings are adequate quality but some were a little worn. Beds were comfortable and linens clean.

Bathroom is very small, typical of the era - would be difficult for 2 people to be in the bathroom at once. Traditional tub with shower head, water pressure and temperature were good, TV channel choice excellent with a flat screen TV.

Now the poor. Noise insulation of poorly fitting sliding glass doors non existant - even with fan running can easily hear traffic on bridge over the river - and thats just cars, Throw in a truck or motor bike and sleep becomes an issue. Poorly fitting door to corridor allows in even more noise, if the room next to yours go in and out a lot it sounds like they are opening you door - very noisy.

Souless bar and restaurant - OK for breakfast (decent breakfast with prompt service) but avoid for dinner. There are plenty of restaunrants nearby and a Ruth Chriss attached to hotel.

If you get a good room rate then fair enough - otherwise avoid, if you are a light sleeper look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPjacksonville, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Hi Mr. Buckley,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your stay with us and will take your feedback to heart to ensure the quality of our hotel continues to improve.

We look forward to hosting you in the future.

With hospitality,
Kerry Boatwright
kboatwright@cpjacksonville.com
904.398.8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This is a Crowne Plaza. That means it was once upscale, but hasn't been remodeled, updated, or refurbished in years. There are tears in the furniture, scuffs in the walls, and everything looks sort of dingy. The whole building looks a little sad.

But, it's still a good bet for downtown Jacksonville. The location is great, right along the water, it seems safe at night, it's easy to get to, and there are plenty of dinner options nearby. And, the WiFi is by far the very best I've ever had in a hotel - 10Mbps down, 7Mbps up, great ping times, strong signal, free, and no annoying logins.

Unfortunately, the walls are very thin (surprised my neighbor was watching *that* at 5:15am) and the pipes are noisy. So, not perfect.

For $60 a night, though, will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPjacksonville, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We always welcome ways to dissect feedback in to ways we can improve upon our hotel.

First, we do appreciate your comments on our unbeatable location and great complimentary WiFi. We realize these are very important to both the business and leisure travelers we serve.

Additionally, we are very proud to be a part of the Crowne Plaza brand. In fact, the Crowne Plaza brand dominated the upscale tier for the second consecutive year in the 2011 Hotel Chain Survey by Business Travel News. Our brand ranked first place overall earning top marks for arranging individual and group travel, our staff, amenities and the overall look of our properties. Additionally, as of 2010, over half of Crowne Plaza properties have been completely renovated.

Locally, we are continually finding ways to improve our hotel – and as of last week, we placed an order for $3,000 worth of new desk chairs to replace any that are not up to standard. I apologize that the new chairs didn’t make it in time for your stay.

Additional recent improvements range from new flat panel LG televisions in all rooms, new guest room carpet, and digital A/C units. Even with these items mentioned, we will have additional renovation improvements to report in the very near future.

Because of our ongoing improvement efforts, I am confident we will be able to exceed your expectations in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need to make reservations in the future.

With hospitality,
Kerry Boatwright
kboatwright@cpjacksonville.com
904.398.8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I were at the CP this past weekend and experienced the FINEST service and hospitality on record for us. We were given a great suite and have to say it was the best we’ve stayed at in Jacksonville, FL! I think the staff here is wonderful and would like to be considered one of your best guests and happiest repeat visitor. We will be back again - NOT TO MENTION, that Breakfast Buffet is killer! No one does it like the Crowne Plaza ! True royal treatment!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPjacksonville, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Wow, what a glowing review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of the entire team here at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront, I thank you for taking the time to write such stellar comments. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

With hospitality,
Kerry Boatwright
kboatwright@cpjacksonville.com
904.398.8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

The staff is nice. but needs major renovation.. not 3 or 4 star quality at all... rooms are out dated as you can see by the pictures... Do not recommend it if you have a plush lifestyle..it internet is very slow... it drove me crazy...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPjacksonville, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
It is extremely disheartening to hear we did not live up to your expectations during your stay with us. We are continually working to upgrade our hotel – such as recently installing new guest room carpet and new digital A/C units. We’re also proud of our newest addition: flat panel LG-HD televisions with extended HD cable. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any suggestions on any improvements we can make to the hotel as we are always open and appreciative to feedback from our guests. And because of our ongoing improvement efforts, I am confident we will be able to exceed your expectations in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need to make reservations.

With hospitality,
Kerry Boatwright
kboatwright@cpjacksonville.com
904.398.8800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel

Address: 1201 Riverplace Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront is a downtown hotel where an exceptional locale blends with an array of amenities, personable service, and a better night's sleep. The hotel features all non-smoking guest rooms with walk-out balconies, stunning views, complimentary wireless internet, and TempurPedic Mattresses in king rooms. Amenities include two restaurants and bars including Ruth’s Chris Steak House. Additional dining options include a Starbucks and room service. The hotel also features a riverfront pool and 24-Hour, complimentary business and fitness centers. With the perfect combination of amenities and services, all you'll have to do is sit back, relax, and indulge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville
Jacksonville Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.