We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a destination hotel, but adequate for a safe place to rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4675 Salisbury Road, Jacksonville, FL 32256   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 130 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a destination hotel, but adequate for a safe place to rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here while attending a conference in Jacksonville. Friendly front desk clerks. Clean, quiet, nice variety for breakfast. Room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. Not a glamorous hotel, but I felt safe there and got the rest I needed between midnight and 6 am for three nights. Well worth the money. Appreciate having fruit and oatmeal as options for breakfast instead of just empty, sugary carbohydrates. Would recommend this to other travelers.

Room Tip: I asked for a room at the end of the hall away from the elevator and vending machines. Slept great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiinaK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. I hope you had a good conference in Jacksonville. I am glad to hear that you felt safe and got to enjoy our breakfast. For your next visit to Jacksonville I hope you choose us again.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    75
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
47
41
52
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hazlehurst
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

On our way to cruise ship going to Bahamas next day, only a half mile away from carnival Cruise ship. Also has shuttle to ship. Rooms were great and service was good. Breakfast was better than most places. Hot breakfast was served! Was well satisfied ! Also got a discount since I work for Walmart!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiinaK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay at our Brand Hotel on Heckser Drive. We are always pleased to hear when Holiday Inn Brand is loved and appreciated. We will always welcome your in your future travels. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This Holiday Inn Express is a fantastic hotel. Location is great, within easy access to major highways. The front desk staff is clearly happy with their line of work, eager to be helpful, and always greet all the customers with a smile. The rooms are super clean and comfortably appointed with modern furniures. Pets are welcomes with an open arm, which is always a must with all dog owners. Breakfast service is fantastic, featuring HI Express signature cinnamon roll. Wifi easy to connect and dependable. Overall, an excellent value for your dollar. Only "adverse" comment: The two bed "suite" is not quite a "suite" in the conventional sense; in most Holiday Inns, it would perhaps be more accurately termed as a 2 beds with a couch sitting area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

GREAT warm cookies on check in! Newspaper in the morning.This is an excellent place to stay. Hot breakfast and friendly helpful staff! They even provided a wheel chair for my mother in law who had just had eye surgery.

Room Tip: adjoining and handicapped rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The only irk was killing a roach the first night... If we had seen others I would have been concerned, however I got over it quickly because the hotel was awesome... The breakfast is truly a breakfast... pancakes, eggs, sausage, biscuits, sausage gravy, toast, bagels, your choice of jellies, peanut butter, syrup & sugar free syrup, cereal, OJ, & Passion Mango juice, coffee and all served and available at least until 9:30 am everyday... excellent location off I-95, easy to find and fairly easy to exit as the entrance off the freeway is a one way... nice well lit parking lot with circular drive to drop off luggage or people... will stay here again in a heartbeat... Go HOLIDAY INN - Jacksonville South...

Room Tip: asked and received a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The lipstick on a pig review about wraps it up, we were in town for a concert and I booked the room reading the not half bad reviews. I've stayed at super 8s with exterior doors nicer and cleaner. The towels were 80% cotton, 15% cement and 5% pubes. One washcloth had what appeared to be a fecal stain. The room was cramped, not to mention we were missing a pull out sofa. They were able to let me check in about 30 minutes early but really nothing special. For the price Hilton and Wyndham go further and beyond expectations in this area. The hotel seemed to have a somewhat recent update but it was not much and kind of just thrown on. And cops were constantly on the premises, I'm not sure if this was security or incidents but either way if that much security was needed or there were that many incidents, but it was the type of presence that more so raises you hair. This motel is the reason I will never stay with HI Or IC again and have moved all my business travelers to a HGI when back home.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiinaK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay. I do apologize for any dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay. I have addressed all the cleaning issues with our housekeeping department and I assure you we do not take this lightly. I am sorry if a suite with pull out sofa bed was not available during your stay. We are in a safe area and have not had any problems with police involvement but have had police training on the property. Again, I am truly sorry for any inconvenience you experienced and hope this does not affect your decision to use Holiday Inn Express brand in the future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night in what was called a suite. I normally define a suite as having a separate bedroom and sitting area. This was more like a studio with a pullout sofa, a microwave and a refrigerator. The room was the same size as a regular room. Aside from that there was nothing, good or bad, to differentiate this HIE from any other HIE,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Pistolpjh,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#16 of 130 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Butler Blvd
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel JTB/Southpoint
2.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Jacksonville
Staybridge Suites Jacksonville
#15 of 130 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville South/I-95 at JTB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South

Address: 4675 Salisbury Road, Jacksonville, FL 32256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#27 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville-South is an award wining hotel located off I-95 at exit 344 (J. Turner Butler BLVD) in South Jacksonville. We are the closest Holiday Inn Express Hotel to downtown Jacksonville. Our 100 % non smoking hotel is ideal for business or pleasure, as we provide what is important; comfort and fashionable furnishings. if you are here for business, this hotel is located within close proximity to companies such as Merrill Lynch, Bank of America, Citigroup, Blue Cross & Blue Shield and Mayo Clinic. If you are here for pleasure, visit the beaches, the City of Jacksonville, watch the Jacksonville Jaguars play at Alltel Stadium, go shopping at St. Johns Town Center Mall or visit one of our many universities like Jacksonville University, Edward Waters College, or the University of North Florida. Our beautiful hotel and suites feature complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, a deluxe continental breakfast, enjoy a workout in our fitness center on a treadmill, life cycle, stair stepper or weight station. We have a USA Today newspaper available to you every weekday. Enjoy our freshly baked Otis Spunkmeyer cookies in the evening. The best way to unwind is to simply relax in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Jacksonville South
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville
Jacksonville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.