We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a good choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge - Jacksonville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge - Jacksonville to your Saves list
Econo Lodge - Jacksonville
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   10901 Harts Rd., Jacksonville, FL 32218 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - Jacksonville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #124 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“not a good choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

we are not picky. we only needed the room to sleep for about 5 hours. location is next to 95, which is good, but this hotel needs some help. shady looking individual smoking in the hallway greeted us to our room, we quickly entered and locked it tightly. the place is just dingy. didnt sleep well, the whole vibe just made us nervous. didnt use the shower, sink and bathroom were very dirty, looked like the room had not been cleaned in a while. candy on the floor...tv barely worked...not even a good value...for 20 bucks more we could have stayed someplace decent...just dont...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHLLCManager, Manager at Econo Lodge - Jacksonville, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Sorry were disappointed with your stay. As a budget hotel, we are limited in resources allocated to renovate rooms. All rooms are thoroughly cleaned before guest check in. However, for $20 more you could have stayed in the King Suite which is much more comfortable. For rooms starting at just $29.99, we represent the best value in Jacksonville, as our 80% occupancy rate can attest to.

In the future, request the King Suite and you will be more than pleased with the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    1
    4
    35
See reviews for
10
9
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were driving down from up north to Florida for a cruise and needed a place to stay just for the night. We found every hotel to be booked during St Patricks Day and this was our only option.

The place was nasty, filthy and old. Walls crumbling, paint peeling, and the place smelled.

We double checked to make sure that we did not see any bugs (roaches or bed bugs) because we noticed some mattresses sitting outside by the dumpster. Thank goodness we did not find any. There were tons of huge gnats though. The beds were hard but despite the activities going on in the area we managed to sleep (not sure if we were just so tired after driving all day or what).

I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHLLCManager, Manager at Econo Lodge - Jacksonville, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
This review was written in the summer after staying in March of 2012. At that time, the hotel was undergoing a change of management. Fortunately, in May of 2012, the hotel was purchased by another company. Since then it has been renovated and now is in the Choice Family of hotels.

We look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nor cal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

This is the complaint letter I sent after my stay.

Stayed at 10901 Harts Road Jacksonville, FL 32218-3704 aug 14-16, supposed to be for 3 days but checked out early due to conditions of motel. 1. bathroom ceiling of unfinished sheetrock, tape and spackle. 2. urine running down side of toilet to bathroom floor and hair (not mine) on ledge of toilet lid hinge. 3. LOTs of mustache shavings and hair (not mine again, female no mustache) in corner of sink underneath the ice bucket sitting on top of it, like I'm really supposed to use the ice bucket now? 4. MOLD in fridge. yes mold, lots of it. Water running out of fridge onto carpet, not sure what from. 5. Hair on walls in shower. 6. The carpet in the room should be torn up and burned. 7. The ventilation system is in serious need of overhaul. We don't smoke but at times it seemed as if someone were standing in our room smoking. I assumed this to be from an adjacent room and the smoke wafting thru the duct work to our room. 8. Mold on air conditioner, go figure that one. This hotel was booked on orbitz and tooted as recently remodeled. It was one of the most unsanitary hotels I've ever visited. Oh and no elevator was fun for hauling up all our luggage for our 10 day stay in florida. Pls email me for pictures of all this mess. I would appreciate it if my money could be refunded. I know this was a cheap place to stay and shouldn't expect much but this was intolerable.

After submitting this complaint it was forwarded to the property owner. Without further prodding, he contacted orbitz and issued a full refund on the room. That's good. The bad? He never once asked to see the pictures.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — too many to list
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHLLCManager, Manager at Econo Lodge - Jacksonville, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
This review is 4 years old. Since then the hotel has changed owners, managers, brands, and has been renovated.

We are happy to show improvement since then. We have done so much since then it would be a shame to overlook our convenient location, indoor corridors, and free Xfinity wifi just over a review that is 5 years old!

We look forward to serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, OH
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

When I checked in, they could not run my credit card. No explanation, just kept trying and it did not work. It was not my credit card but the scanner that was causing the problem. I had to pay cash. My room smelled. I had a king size bed. It was so lumpy I removed the pillows and slept sideways at the head of the bed. People were roaming the building hallways at all hours. I really felt unsafe. I could not wait to checkout. Worse hotel I have stayed in with my 45 years of traveling.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge - Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Jacksonville

Address: 10901 Harts Rd., Jacksonville, FL 32218 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - Jacksonville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Jacksonville 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge - Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge - Jacksonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.