We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the management staff is racist” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stars Rest Inn

Save Saved
You added Stars Rest Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stars Rest Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Lane Avenue South, Jacksonville, FL 32254 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Jacksonville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“the management staff is racist”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The owners and housekeeping staff are nice and very helpful. I can say that! the manager shut the pool down because of to many BLACK kids in the pool! He is rude and not helpful! I asked him about trying to find something in the hotel and he walked passed me like wasn't standing there. They need to find someone who can do there job and but there personal feeling aside! TO ALL TRUCK DRIVERS IF YOUR BLACK DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dev S, Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Tiddy22,

I'm very sorry for your negative experience. I want to assure you that we do not tolerate any form of racism in our staff. This is something we take very seriously. We will review the circumstances and take the appropriate action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    4
    11
See reviews for
1
4
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Waited 30 minutes in the parking lot for them to "find a room" when we had reserved the room a week prior. The "nonsmoking" room that they "found" reeked of cigarette smoke, had old, torn carpet and burns all over the furniture. Witnessed two escorts going into rooms near ours (and we did have children with us). Immediately asked for a refund. Only good thing was they did refund our money. If you have no other choice I guess you could sleep here overnight but I would never.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dev S, Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello L H,

Our apologies for the wait time. Our new management staff aims to ensure the highest room satisfaction within the least amount of check-in time. We also have a very strict on-site mobile security team with 24/7 continuous monitoring of our 45 cameras' system. Proper measures will be taken to set the course right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

It saddens me to even has to give this dump one star. We booked a room at the Stars Rest Inn last minute,after looking at the pictures we thought it would be descent. Oh how wrong we were! I don't know where this photos were taken,but this hotel looks nothing like them. The room was filthy,all of the light bulbs were out. I could have dealt with that,however I could NOT deal with the prostitutes and drug addicts roaming the parking lot at all hours of the night and day. I felt very unsafe here. We booked the room for 2 nights and left early in the morning on our first night. The owner was at the front desk and checked us out,she was so rude and nasty. Needless to say we will NEVER be returning to this crack hotel,I strongly advise you to steer clear as well.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dev S, Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Renee G,

I'm very sorry to hear of your negative experience. Our management strongly values guest satisfaction, comfort, safety, and cleanliness. I want to personally ensure you of our mission to do so and I encourage you to give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I spent the night last night at the Stars Rest Inn. Reading all these reviews I wonder if we stayed at the same hotel. If you want the Hilton than go there. If you want a reasonable room than this is ur place. The room wasn't glamorus but far from what others have made it sound. The price $35 a night.. no charge for parking.. free wifi....great bar that rocks on the site.. You can drink and no worries on driving home. Yes there are some things that could easily be done for aesthetic value but for your money this is the place..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dev S, Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi taadaa12000. Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased to have served you well. We hope you will continue to choose us at the Star's Rest Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Do not stay here!! They put you in the contractors area. rooms were dirty, chairs stained, sinks broke . Just a poorly maintained hotel. Thugs yelling outside your door, climbing on running board of our truck!! Tried to get our money back & leave. Did not feel safe here!! Had to change rooms & really didn't get much better. Had stayed here a year or so ago & won't ever stay. Down hill bad!!

Room Tip: Only tip for a good room is FIND ANOTHER HOTEL!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The cleaning service do a good job. They will help you if you need something. The rooms seem to be getting better as far as the bugs go. All the rooms could use some carpet fresh.
My last review was complaints of noisy,smelly, roach and roach egg infested urine stench.
They have gotten better.
Williams Café is a great place to eat located in the lobby.

Room Tip: At the Star Rest Inn is Williams Café. The best breakfast and hamburger's in town. Hands down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dev S, Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello Steve,

Thank you for your positive review! We are continuing in our mission to offer full guest satisfaction. We hope to maintain your continued business! Thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

I have had to stay in several different rooms there. The rooms are filthy, smelly,moldy,filled with bugs, the door locks don't work most of the time. Seedy doesn't quite cover what the Star Rest Inn really is.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stars Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stars Rest Inn

Address: 510 Lane Avenue South, Jacksonville, FL 32254 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Jacksonville)
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stars Rest Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Stars Rest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stars Rest Hotel Jacksonville
Days Inn Jacksonville
Jacksonville Days Inn
Days Inn Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stars Rest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.