We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than last review.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stars Rest Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stars Rest Inn to your Saves list
Stars Rest Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Lane Avenue South, Jacksonville, FL 32254 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Jacksonville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 131 Hotels in Jacksonville
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“Better than last review.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The cleaning service do a good job. They will help you if you need something. The rooms seem to be getting better as far as the bugs go. All the rooms could use some carpet fresh.
My last review was complaints of noisy,smelly, roach and roach egg infested urine stench.
They have gotten better.
Williams Café is a great place to eat located in the lobby.

Room Tip: At the Star Rest Inn is Williams Café. The best breakfast and hamburger's in town. Hands down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dev S, Manager at Stars Rest Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello Steve,

Thank you for your positive review! We are continuing in our mission to offer full guest satisfaction. We hope to maintain your continued business! Thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    4
    18
See reviews for
2
5
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have had to stay in several different rooms there. The rooms are filthy, smelly,moldy,filled with bugs, the door locks don't work most of the time. Seedy doesn't quite cover what the Star Rest Inn really is.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

The rooms smell very bad, there are tiny little bugs that resemble fleas on the bed and sink. I killed on that was on me and apparently it was drinking my blood.
The shower has crappy pressure and goes from hot to cold and back again.
All around it was an awful experience.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I 've never been in a hotel so dirty, at a price so high. 59 & change is way to much to pay for this scary place. Couldn't find a clean room, even though the place was not busy. It reminded me of a place we stopped at on a road trip years ago & the woman dangling the cigarette behind the desk wanted to know how many HOURS we wanted the room for. As for recommending it to a friend - I wouldn't recommend it to an enemy!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Overall the basics were covered. There was a restaurant available for breakfast and dinner, but no free continental breakfast and no lunch is ever served. They had a quaint lounge with live entertainment and I Got to meet a lot of the locals. Apparently that lounge has been open and popular for years. The rooms need work as far as faucet and toilet fixtures, but the beds were wonderful and the bathrooms were clean. There was some mustiness and possibly well hidden mold but it seems like the owners are aware of a humidity issue because there are dehumidyfiers in the rooms. As far as the atmosphere, it is not a fancy place by far. I would say the rooms are no different than maybe a super 8 or motel 6 with slightly nicer furniter. I enjoyed the free wi-fi and internet cafe'. I guess if your doing business in the area this is the perfect place for you, but certainly not a vacation spot, or a quiet one for that matter. There is no escape from the trucking noises, yes there were truckers there, and people were awake and hanging out at all times of the day. Like I said if all you care about is a comfy bed and your basic necessities met while you're at work or stopping for the night, it's perfect and very cheap compared to the place accross the street.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, fl
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

This Days Inn at Donalsonville, Ga was the worse when it come to coffee. Days Inn at Clayton, Ga had begals, cereal, orange juice, fruit etc, but still lousy coffee. But this Days Inn was the worst. Just white Bread and orange just, some cereal. There is a Hardee's down the street, which had good service and coffee. They also need to change the rug.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

The location was right where I needed to be, but I was a bit concerned after reading all the other reviews on here, so I called the hotel and asked them what was up with all the negative reviews. They told me they had recently been renovated and were under new ownership. They said the old reviews were several years old (after checking again, I noticed this was indeed correct, most of the reviews I saw dated back to 2005). Anyways, I decided to roll the dice and made a reservation. Paid $69. Was well impressed with the room, I must have got a renovated one, because everything was brand new. Good breakfast, clean lobby, the staff were cool, and great bar onsite too. All in all I was a happy camper and will definitely come back here again next time I am in town. Two thumbs up ~ more if I had more thumbs!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stars Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stars Rest Inn

Address: 510 Lane Avenue South, Jacksonville, FL 32254 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Jacksonville)
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 131 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stars Rest Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stars Rest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stars Rest Hotel Jacksonville
Days Inn Jacksonville
Jacksonville Days Inn
Days Inn Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stars Rest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.