We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or miss.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14670 Duval Road, Jacksonville, FL 32218-2460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #34 of 131 Hotels in Jacksonville
Hockessin, Delaware
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hit or miss.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here one night with my wife and son. We requested a King suite and received a room with a king bed; we had to ask for a roll-away bed for our son. The room was small (the roll-away bed barely fit), but very clean and had been recently renovated. The staff was friendly but accomodating. The price was just OK. This hotel accepts pets which is why we stayed here, but it would not have been my first choice if I was traveling without pets. They did NOT offer complimentary coffee in the mornings.......really?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apoligize for the confusion regarding your room type. We have two suites in the hotel however animals are not allowed on those floors. The first floors in both towers are desognated for pets.

Our staff takes great pride in our facility and we, along with our guests, have enjoyed all the wonderful renovations that our owners have done. Regarding complimentary coffee, the Crowne offers Keurig machines in all guests rooms with free coffee for your convenience.

Thanks again for contacting us. We appreciate your business and value your comments.

Mark Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    68
    28
    14
    10
See reviews for
42
36
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Upon entering the lobby of this hotel, it looks fairly acceptable but it stops right there. The room we stayed in was dirty and run down. The toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in quite a while, missing parts on the faucets, bed that was ancient, squeaky, and linens that were worn out. Staff of the hotel were equivalent to the hotel--in need of replacement.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We do want to thank you for letting us know about your stay. We pride ourselves on exceptional service and amenities, so I do apologize that we did not deliver this time around. I can promise you that the highest quality standards will be met in the future because protecting our reputation in the market is a key priority for us. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience caused as a result.

Please email my assistant at krogers@mmihg.com with your room number so I can personally inspect it and take care of this. We would definitely like to see you again in the future! Thanks again for your feedback!

Mark Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip. The staff was very professional and helpful wanted our stay to be as pleasant as possible.
The staff in the breakfast area were polite and very nice.
I stayed on a floor where no noise were allowed, which was nice because of the jetlag and the need for proper sleep.
The beds were really great, and I loved products on the pillow to help you to calm and relax.
The only thing that was sad, was that I got a rope the last night out of three. I'd wish I would get it from the start of the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We do want to thank you for letting us know about your stay. We pride ourselves on exceptional service and amenities, so I do apologize that we did not deliver fthe robe on the first night of your stay.

We would definitely like to see you again in the future! Thanks again for your feedback!

Mark Kane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here on a drive to Florida where I had encountered horrendous traffic conditions. This hotel was a welcome respite. The lobby is large and open. There is a bar in the lobby which offers a limited menu. There is also a full service restaurant on the premises. I ate inthe bar which was very pleasant experience . The rooms are spacious . The beds are very comfortable ...and the price was reasonable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We love to hear that you had such a great experience with us. Thank you so much!

We hope to see you again soo and Happy New Year!

Mark Kane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great beds, friendly staff. Love the sleep tight products to help calm and relax. Go to the website Templespa.com
Indoor pool, keurig, great shower products and facilities
If you are on a business trip nice and quite rooms to unwind
Looking forward to my next visit


Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The new sleep kits have been a great hit with our guest and we are glad that you had the opportunity use it.

Also,our beds are definitely a plus...some guests say its difficult to get out of bed because they are so comfortable.

Again, thank you and we look forward to your return visit!

Mark Kane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Crown Plaza on both ends of a 7-day cruise. The accommodations
were 1st class, and provided courtesy transportation both ways. Upon leaving the morning
of the final stay, the General Manager greeted us and engaged in a friendy conversation.
The room and all the facilities were extremely clean, and we will always return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much for rating our hotel. We really appreciate the nice comments and I will share them with my staff.

It was a pleasure meeting you guys and I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Jacksonville.

Happy Holidays!

Mark Kane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were quite pleased with our short stay at the Crowne Plaza. I initially booked the hotel for convenience arriving from a long flight, and was impressed right from van pick-up at the airport to check-in. I did not get the front desk agent's name; however, he was very professional and pleasant - plus gave us an upgrade due to a recent birthday, to the Executive Level.

I'm not sure if the previous negative reviews were from the regular hotel rooms, but our Executive Level room was extremely clean and modern, obviously recently updated. The bed was extremely comfortable, and there was little noise. The nicely decorated lounge has 24 hour access and provides hot beverages, soft drinks, and water, plus a comfortable sitting area with a big-screen tv. There were even ice cream bars and Mexican-style paletas, which were much appreciated after being out in the warm temps all day long. The only downside to the executive lounge is the computer was extremely slow and frustrating. If I were a business person relying on the computer I would not have been very happy. Wifi was very good and fast.

We ate in the restaurant the first night and though the staff were well-meaning and delightful, the food was unfortunately only passable - the only downside to this otherwise very nice hotel. We ate in as we did not have a vehicle - there is a mall perhaps a 20 minute walk from the hotel with dining options and you could conceivably walk to it. However, from what we could see there is no sidewalk and would be definitely unsafe at night with high-speed traffic coming off the freeway. There is a small convenience store right beside the hotel and a Waffle House as well.

Though not perfect, the Crowne Plaza met our needs for a stay near JAX and we would definitely consider returning, especially since we had excellent rates for the weekend.

Room Tip: Try to get an Executive Level Room if possible; weekends seem to be good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaJAX, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to rate our hotel. You are correct, our staff does take great pride in our facility and we are glad that you recognize this. All of our rooms are the same except the EL has the addition of lounge and complimentary refreshments. We, along with our guests, have enjoyed all the wonderful renovations that our owners have done.

Our location is great as you mentioned. Next time you should check out the Rivercity Marketplace which offers over 100 shops and restaurants only minutes away and just a short shuttle ride which is provided by the hotel. I will share your comments regarding the food in the restaurant.

Again, thank you and we hope to see back soon!

Mark Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel

Address: 14670 Duval Road, Jacksonville, FL 32218-2460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#26 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel (formerly Holiday Inn) is located minutes from the Jacksonville International Airport (JAX) and the Carnival Cruise Lines terminal at JAXPORT. We are just a short drive from Downtown Jacksonville (via I-95) and the area’s finest beaches and golf courses.Regardless of whether you are traveling to Jacksonville, Florida for business or pleasure, the Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel has plenty of luxurious rooms available allowing you to relax and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Jacksonville
Jacksonville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.