We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wedding cake is the most delicious dessert I've ever tasted!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Pantry

The French Pantry
6301 Powers Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32217
904-730-8696
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,774 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“The wedding cake is the most delicious dessert I've ever tasted!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I was in Jacksonville for a short stay and of course used tripadvisor. This place deserves to be number 1! We had the chicken panini with prosciutto and fresh mozzarella which was so tasty!!! The fresh bread and olive oil dip is addicting, by far the best dip I've ever tasted. We had the wedding cake and napolian for dessert and were amazed by both. Be prepared to wait in line but believe me it is worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    47
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth the trip - great lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is in a warehouse district, and is easy to drive by, so keep a sharp lookout for the awning with the business name on it. Nothing fancy about it, but once inside you will be overwhelmed by the choices. Stuck with the french dip sandwich. Excellent. While there I saw some great looking salads come out. And the pastries........ to die for. Expect a wait, but it is worth it. Highly recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everything has been Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It is really a treat to eat at French Pantry. Most of the time you'll walk up and there's a line out the door because the restaurant isn't that big, but it is DEFINITELY worth the wait. I really love the Parisian French Dip, Prosciutto Bruschetta and the Bang Bang Shrimp Bruschetta. They are all TO DIE FOR. Their desserts are another thing! The chocolate cake with the strawberry sauce and the fruit tart are my favorites. The bread they serve you with oil at the beginning of your meal is always hot and fresh. We always buy some bread to go before leaving to enjoy at home. I wish there were more locations!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in Jax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This must be the best place in Jax well made food, the only down side is the line and wait.. The food is fresh and the bakery is outstanding.. The service is fast and friendly... I will be back often.....

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“French with American Ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had one night in J'ville and a well-traveled friend in D.C. more or less ordered me to go to this out of the way restaurant. The taxi driver took me on a guided tour of the neighborhood before dropping me off and refused to take any fare! I lived in France for several years and can truthfully say that the food I ate and the (French) wine I drank took me back to France. I had an outside table to myself (no great view, just the car park). Check out their website for a sample menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Pantry also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to The French Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.