We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Great Great place for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Pantry

The French Pantry
6301 Powers Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32217
904-730-8696
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,774 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great Great Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Come early and be at the head of the long line. Come for the food. I mean ,…..come to worship the food. Buy the bread. The ONLY bread that is close to bread found in France. Buy the cakes….. Buy two of the cakes. Don't be shy, say hello to the strangers seated with you. WE love French Pantry.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    47
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great but be prepared to wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

First, let me say that any Jacksonville native that has been to the French Pantry will agree that it is amazing, but that you have to go hungry (you won't want to eat for the rest of the day after this) and be able to wait in a very long line to eat here. It is a large bread making business, with a small cafe on the side. The doors open at 11am, but the line starts at 10:45 at a minimum. If you show up at 11am, you will wait 45 minutes to an hour just to get in the door. Once inside, the menu is hand-written on a chalkboard - there are regular staple items (one of their many bruschettas and a few sandwiches) and some daily specials. Trust me, and try the bruschetta - it's a hearty portion of salad and their signature bread covered in whatever toppings you choose - I'm a particular fan of the shrimp & leek bruschetta. Once you get near the counter, you are asked for your drink order, and then a server finds open seats for you and shows you where you'll be sitting. Be prepared to sit with strangers! If there is a table for six and there are two of you, you'll be sharing a table. Don't pass up the desserts while waiting in line - get a piece of their strawberry wedding cake (OMG!) or carrot cake to go - everything I've tried is decadent and amazing.

You order at the counter, then go sit down and the server brings you fresh, hot bread and oil/herbs to dip it in. The bread alone can fill you up, but is totally worth it. Enjoy the atmosphere and the shared tables, because that's what makes the french pantry unique. It's not anything like you're used to, and people in line will stare at your food and ask what you're eating and it's just fun and social if you go with the flow.

You should allow at least 2 hours for this experience though - don't be in a rush! It's worth it, but is definitely an occasional treat to be savored.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“CROWDED.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is literally a hole in the wall type of places. The food is definitely worth the wait. But what bugs me is the crowded environment. You sit next to strangers as you eat and people in line stare you down. But overall good food

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“NOT a restaurant. Not even a diner.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I live in Jacksonville and have gone to the French Pantry a few times now. My best recommendation is to run in and bypass the queue, and just buy the loaves and run home and enjoy. The bread is really delicious and fresh and worth the trip. If you are buying bread you can go to the head of the queue and you will be served immediately and will not upset the diners.
If you have the patience to wait in the queue to order, then wait for a spot to be seated mess hall style, with a bunch of other strangers ( there are maybe 6 tables in total), in a place that looks more like a "bric a brac", in the middle of truckie land than a french eatery, you will love the Pantry. The food is good, but it is not exactly cheap, the service consists of being designated a corner of a table to sit in and basic table fare. It is very noisy and a bit uncomfortable to have people staring at you while you eat, urging you to hurry up with somewhat averted eyes. Now knowing all of this, if you still want to go there and endure the wait, crowd, poor service and decor for the food, you will find the food ok to good. Definitely not worth first place on the trip advisor list in my humble opinion though!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“best lunch break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My coworker brought me here on our lunch break. We had to wait for what seemed like forever with the line way out the door. But that's only because the food is amazing!! I'd recommend getting there early. It is completely worth the wait. Best sandwich I have found in Jacksonville.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Pantry also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to The French Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.