We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for the pay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Jacksonville South to your Saves list
Super 8 Jacksonville South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5018 University Boulevard West, Jacksonville, FL 32216   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
naples
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for the pay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here briefly while on a short trip. The hotel was clean. The check in was quick and effortless. The floors were clean. The free breakfast was the typical free breakfast: waffles, bagels, pastries, cereal and drinks. For the low rate I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Jacksonville South, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for your response. Will see you in near future. Please recommend to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    28
    14
    10
See reviews for
25
15
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Went to Jacksonville for a weekend trip and stayed at this hotel. I was surprised how clean the hotel was. I felt like I was in a four star hotel. The hotel stay was very quite althoghit is on a busy street. Hotel was kind of in a business industrial district where a lot of businesses had closed down. I have to give my thumbs up to the management for keeping the rooms so clean. This hotel did not have a pool, but I didn't need one. I will be writing management on how the clean the room was.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a non-smoking room, and a room with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Jacksonville South, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Really appreciate for your time. Will see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed here with my family on our way to Disney World. I didn't know anything about jacksonville and was choosing this motel based on reviews and price. It is not worth the money. The hotel had a weird odor to it, there were bugs on the floor. And at night, there are strange people walking around. I have an 8 and a 4 year old. I didn't feel safe. It's next to a Burger King and a truck place next door. There is an adult store across the street. I've stayed at other Super 8's in other regions, and this is by far the worst of them all! Pay a little more and stay somewhere else. even if it is for 1 night just to get some shut eye.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay at this hotel... try to stay on the first floor so you can run to your car faster i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We felt they had "ripped" us off, we had a coupon for a room ($39.95), they asked if we wanted a room with a micro fridge, I said yes, guy says 6 bucks more, so by the time he had rung up the bill it was 20+ dollars more than the coupon.We were tooo tired to argue with these folks
This place was on a road in front of a busy road, so the traffic can get loud/and some what heavy.We were pretty much off to the end on the ground floor.
We might make a return trip...not sure we would stay there...

Room Tip: If u want to keep some things chilled in a fridge, expect to pay for it,, the micro/fridges are only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wardensville, WV
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here for five days for vacation with my family. The beds were confortable, and the room was clean. The continental breakfast was outstanding. I booked my room on Hotwire and got a great deal. Some drawbacks: (1.) There is what looks like a school bus garage next door, so the noise gets loud. (2). The road in front of the motel is very aggressive, so be careful pulling in and out. (3). Like many Hotwire motels, this place gets crowded. There were two parties next to my room the five nights I was here. There is a XXX adult club nearby, which might have led to the rowdy neighbors.

The motel is very reasonable, especially through Hotwire, so I would recommend it. It is generic, no pool. There is a small laundramat on the premisis, and there was a small refrigerator and a mircowave in my room......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed here for one night and it was definitely a pleasant experience. The price was certainly reasonable and suprisingly inexpensive (we paid $45 for the night)
The room and beds were clean sheets were definitely clean, it looked updated. It was in a nice area. The pool was great and on a hot day, the water was definitely warm and refreshing.There's nothing for me to complain about. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Used a hotel coupon from a gas station so it was $41 total. Was clean and affordable. Would consider staying again - the price was right and it was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Jacksonville South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Jacksonville South

Address: 5018 University Boulevard West, Jacksonville, FL 32216
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Jacksonville South 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Jacksonville South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Jacksonville South Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Jacksonville South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.