We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, but a rip-off” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches to your Saves list
Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14390 Mayo Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32224   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #54 of 131 Hotels in Jacksonville
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Convenient, but a rip-off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband is having a procedure at Mayo. Very convenient since it's across the street. The modest room cost 164.&tax. And, NO FREE BREAKFAST, like every other hotel in the world these days. There is a restaurant in the lobby. The Bistro is pathetically slow. We waited ten minutes before someone came to take a drink order...30 minutes for dinner to arrive. The servers took forever to get to other tables just to say hello. I was watching intently and it wasn't that busy. The "Market" store adjacent doesn't have anything healthy to snack on, especially for a hospital hotel. I would probably stay here again for the convenience, but would eat dinner elsewhere...and bring healthy snacks.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardGM14, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I am very sorry that you did not feel the hotel was a great value for the money. The Courtyard by Marriott hotel brand does not offer free breakfast. We do have a great Bistro that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner so that you do not have to leave the hotel if you choose. We also Proudly Brew Starbucks. I was very surprised by your comments about the slow service in the restaurant. We typically get great reviews about our service. I am very sorry and have shared your comments with the Bistro staff so this will not happen again. I will look at the offerings we have in the market and increase the number of healthy items we offer. I am very sorry your service was not what was expected but I am glad you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    31
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
35
25
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a nice place to stay. Very clean, comfy beds, friendly staff and though its located by Mayo Clinic there is no relation to the hospital and you still have that feeling that your staying at a hotel. Great amenities, flat screen TV, wifi service is free, speedy and most importantly the signal is very potent. Free 5 star breakfast. I mean its included... if you complain then you just need to get a life. It was yummy in my opinion. I got this deal on priceline for $57.00 a night plus taxes. Great overall experience. The only thing is that room service is not offered. That would be the only hiccup. Other than that....... yay!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Adjacent to the Mayo Clinic, this is a friendly, clean and well-run establishment. I stayed there for only one night last week, and had a pleasant experience. I might have preferred a few more dining (or perhaps shopping) options near this hotel, but that shouldn't reflect poorly on the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A group of family and friends stayed at this hotel for a wedding, and it couldn't have been a better choice in spite of the fact we hardly stayed in the room for very long. We were greeted with a goody bag from the soon-to-be married couple, and the staff made sure we made it to our rooms okay later on. We saw the housekeepers a few times, and they were especially pleasant and friendly.

The decor of the room was perfect. It looked and smelled nice no matter when we entered. Everything was spotless. Really, I don't think the bedroom could have been any better than it was. The location was also perfect. It was in a quiet area, but it was close enough to the action for all of us to take care of wedding preparations and shopping.

The only downside to this hotel would be the breakfast "bar". It was pretty overpriced for the amount of food served. It really wasn't anything spectacular, but we wouldn't have even touched the "bar" had we not had to be on the road early in the morning to make it home before it got too late.

Besides that small detail, our stay was perfect. We'd love to come back for a less busy weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soontobeamitchell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have no complaints! Beautiful hotel, great area, pleasant staff. The very good deal Priceline gave us made it even more incredible! We stayed here for one night before our cruise. I actually wish we could have stayed longer than one night so we could have enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel has the nicest staff that I have encountered at any hotel. They were extremely helpful, accommodating and pleasant during our three day stay. The hotel is so convenient to Mayo especially if you have appointments at the Davis clinic. It is basically right across the street and there is a sidewalk to take you there. It is faster than parking in the Mayo parking garage. The rooms were nice and very well kept. The lobby area was a great place to sit and have coffee in the morning or drinks at night. There are newspapers for you to read and Tv's all over. The bistro was excellent and had starbucks coffee available. We had breakfast and it was delicious. We will visit this hotel again. It was a great place to stay if you have to be at Mayo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The room is nice...it was clean, fairly spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was quite well laid out also. Unfortunately we were placed next to a back exit area where people went in and out, and also we were near some type of generator or piping so the noises were a bit distracting and irritating. I had to run the ac at a very low temperature at night to drown out the background disturbances, and for the price we were paying that's not cool at all! Asking for a room away from elevators/exits/generators would have been better.

But the real reason for bringing the rating down from 4 stars to 3 is because we couldn't have been much more disappointed with the poor quality of choice and the flat taste at the so called 'breakfast bar'. It was expensive, with few choices and not so great tasting foods. What ever happened to the good quality hotel that would include a nice tasty continental breakfast...would that have been too much to ask when the night costs more than $170.00?

Next time I will stay a couple of miles away from the Mayo Clinic in a decent hotel that charges no more than $100 and includes breakfast. The great location of this hotel doesn't make up for the pitfalls and the price.

I spent one night with you and I feel a bit used.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches

Address: 14390 Mayo Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32224
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 131 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Marriott
Jacksonville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.