We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14390 Mayo Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32224   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #55 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
soontobeamitchell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have no complaints! Beautiful hotel, great area, pleasant staff. The very good deal Priceline gave us made it even more incredible! We stayed here for one night before our cruise. I actually wish we could have stayed longer than one night so we could have enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
23
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel has the nicest staff that I have encountered at any hotel. They were extremely helpful, accommodating and pleasant during our three day stay. The hotel is so convenient to Mayo especially if you have appointments at the Davis clinic. It is basically right across the street and there is a sidewalk to take you there. It is faster than parking in the Mayo parking garage. The rooms were nice and very well kept. The lobby area was a great place to sit and have coffee in the morning or drinks at night. There are newspapers for you to read and Tv's all over. The bistro was excellent and had starbucks coffee available. We had breakfast and it was delicious. We will visit this hotel again. It was a great place to stay if you have to be at Mayo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The room is nice...it was clean, fairly spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was quite well laid out also. Unfortunately we were placed next to a back exit area where people went in and out, and also we were near some type of generator or piping so the noises were a bit distracting and irritating. I had to run the ac at a very low temperature at night to drown out the background disturbances, and for the price we were paying that's not cool at all! Asking for a room away from elevators/exits/generators would have been better.

But the real reason for bringing the rating down from 4 stars to 3 is because we couldn't have been much more disappointed with the poor quality of choice and the flat taste at the so called 'breakfast bar'. It was expensive, with few choices and not so great tasting foods. What ever happened to the good quality hotel that would include a nice tasty continental breakfast...would that have been too much to ask when the night costs more than $170.00?

Next time I will stay a couple of miles away from the Mayo Clinic in a decent hotel that charges no more than $100 and includes breakfast. The great location of this hotel doesn't make up for the pitfalls and the price.

I spent one night with you and I feel a bit used.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great hotel in the Jacksonville Beach area without having the 'foot' traffic from the beach. Hotel was clean and close to all area attractions and the beach.
My only reason for not giving this an 'excellent' rating, was the hotel seemed to attract mosquitos terribly. I like taking sand home from our beach trips, not mosquito bites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadley, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The room was neat and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was quite and peaceful. After getting settled in our room the front desk called up to make sure that everything was fine and made sure we were able to log into the Internet. They also brought fresh towels.

I was just unhappy that the ice machine was broken on our last day at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here for two days because it is across the street from the Mayo Clinic, The walk is short and they also have a van should the weather be inclement. Check-in may be delayed which can be frustrating however, for exisiting guests, check-out may take a little longer if you are a Mayo patient and the hotel staff are aware of this and it is one less stress. Our room wasn't the cleanest and the balcony too small for chairs. I found the hallways to be a bit gloomy. The food is better than at the hospital and the extra price can be worth the convenience and the servers are great! I would go crazy here as a caregiver if it was an extended stay as there are only so many times one can walk the lovely grounds or chill at the meditation garden. Prices vary - and the Mayo clinic discount may not be the best so do your homework. It is easy to get to from I-95.

Room Tip: ask for room facing mayo and balcony big enough for chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

For my b/f and my first trip to the Mayo Clinic, and not knowing what to expect, we booked a room (#203) at the Courtyard Mayo Clinic. It is literally across the street from the Davis and Mayo buildings... a very convenient walk especially when you're waiting on appointments and don't know what's next.
However, when we first arrived to check in, the desk agent asked me for my active duty military ID as I had booked the room at the government rate of $80.00. I have an active duty dependent ID card. He and I got into an argument as the 800- reservations line NEVER ONCE mentioned "active" duty. I was only asked if I were state or federal government. Then he proceeds to tell me to check my email because it specifically states "active" duty. I whipped out my smart phone and again, no where does does it state active duty. It says, "Govt/military rate, federal government ID required." Then he said I needed to follow a link in the email to the Marriott website. Are you kidding me??? Being there was already stressful enough. I mean, if you're staying at a hotel at the Mayo Clinic, you're not there for a pleasure trip. I told him I expected the rate I was quoted over the phone. After all of this, he then misread my ID and though it said RET for retired when it says RES-AD for Reserve members on extended Active Duty. Once I explained the whole "dependent" ID of someone who is on active duty, he said he would honor the rate.
And the rocky start continued when we got up to room #201 it STUNK of cigarette smoke. These rooms have balconies and although there's a sign on the sliding glass door that says smoking on the balcony is strictly prohibited, when we were at the pool, folks were smoking on their balconies all around us... another frustration.
We went back down to the desk and were assigned to room #203. At this point, the desk agent was miraculously and overly nice to me... and he was that way for the rest of our stay.
The room definitely smelled better but was just average. Two queen-sized beds (we had my two kids with us), TV, refrigerator (that was a plus) and a separate shower/toilet area from the sink. We did find one roach and several small ants in the room.
The courtyard is nice, but I could have done without the constant drone of the pressure washing when we were there. The pool was nice as well. The kids enjoyed that and it gave us a place to just sit and wait instead of being cooped up in the room.
If we would have had to pay the regular "patient" rate of $154, we would not have stayed there. Plus, the Bistro restaurant and The Market (mini-store) are so very over priced. You would think Marriott would take into consideration the stress level of their guests at this particular property and adjust accordingly.
We may or may not stay there again. It is convenient for Mayo Clinic patients, but I really can't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches

Address: 14390 Mayo Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Marriott
Jacksonville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.