We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same restaurant of olden days” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Havana-jax Cafe

Havana-jax Cafe
2578 Atlantic Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32207-3666
(904) 399-0609
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #262 of 1,740 restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Beach Blvd. & Atlantic Blvd
Ponte Vedra, Fl
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not the same restaurant of olden days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I went to Havana Jax for lunch with some business associates and I decided to try their ropa vieja. It was very disappointing; this is a typical Cuban dish of shredded beef, not complicated. It was close to a brisket where there were large chunks of bees rather than shredded, no self-respecting Cuban would serve this. We also ordered some fried yucca which was not edible, very greasy and hard, not well selected or cooked. In the past years I have visited the restaurant and it was quite good, no longer. The Cuban sandwiches were OK, no complaints from those who ordered them as well as the black beans. Service was also good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    7
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!! Old World charm, taste-tempting menu, perfect waiter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

When we are in the mood for Cuban-American dishes, this is our restaurant of choice. Havana-Jax is undoubtedly Jacksonville's best kept secret. My whole family raves about it. They even ask for H-J gift certificate's when celebrating that special anniversary or birthday! Love the empanadas! The plantains are yummy, the pork is moist and tasty, papa frita's with mojo sauce is sooo good. The waiter is charming, with his grace and elegance at serving. Why can't every waiter be like that? The entire experience was just delightful. Top it all off with flan or the egg custard dessert and you'll be ready to dance some of it off next door at Cuba Libre. You simply can't go wrong for a beautiful, special evening: Great food, fantastic waitstaff, convenient location where Atlantic and Beach meet, close to St. Nicholas area. Try it once, and I'll bet like our family, you'll be back again and again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very authentic & traditional dining..."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I recently had lunch with a friend and we both really enjoyed the Cuban Black Bean Soup.
Reasonalby priced and full of flavor !!! Lunch was delicious !!! The staff is very attentive and I went back to see a traditional band play on the nite club side - "Cuba Libre." This is a fun night spot, with dancing and after hours entertainment.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I always enjoy Havana Jax. Normally order the picadillo, which is awesome, but today went with the lechon asado, which was really good. Also tried the tres leches - very good. Nice, quiet atmosphere for lunch. It's somewhat pricey for lunch (mine was $15), but worth it if you know what to expect going in...

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Bar none, this was the worst restaurant I have ever eaten in.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I first tried this RR about 5 years ago and found it awful. As I live in the neighborhood, I decided to give it another chance. It was even worse than I remembered. The rice was clumpy and greasy. The plaintains were surely cooked earlier in the day and were hard and dried out. The sangria had unmixed sugar in the bottom that drifted up and felt like sand in my mouth. The menu said all the entrees included rice, b. beans and plaintains, but I was charged $4 for a little st'foam cup of beans. Service was indifferent and appeared to be the owner who paid attention to the tables with several patrons versus a lone diner. Dinner was over $30 - totally unwarranted. This restaurant would be out of business in Miami in a month - where I Iived for many years.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana-jax Cafe also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Havana-jax Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana-jax Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.