We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, friendly staff, odd location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11083 Nurseryfields Drive, Jacksonville, FL 32256   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #12 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa Bay
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice property, friendly staff, odd location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed there before a meeting at UNF. The lobby and hallways are well kept and clean; the a/c was on full blast on a misty rainy chilly evening. The room was clean and well appointed. The room smelled a bit odd; not enough to complain to management about, but after I turned the a/c off, it wasn't pleasant. Again. I'd stay there again, but they need to address that issue maybe install better dehumidifiers???

Room Tip: Try not to face 295
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_9A_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for taking time to share your comments. I have heard about the location not being the best, from several guests. It may seem odd to turn into what looks like an appartment complex in order to get to a hotel. Hopefully as the developement continues next to us the entrance may end up being a bit better. We certainly hope so. Not sure of what room you were in but if you do get a chance to send me an email I can verify the AC problem has been repaired. Hope to see you return soon and Happy Holidays...

Norman LeBert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    35
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
40
38
15
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartow, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Using an 'express deal' type of rate and being booked at this Holiday Inn sight unseen, we were very pleased! Although we ran into a couple of minor problems, they were not issues that would deter us from returning in the future. We know that check-in is supposed to be 3:00 or later, but usually arrive in town (to see my aging parents) in late morning. We are usually able to check-in, put our suitcase in the room, and know that when we return later in the evening, we won't have to go through the check-in process when we're already worn-out. We were grateful that we were able to check-in around 11:30 a.m. (Sat. 11/3/2012) and assigned to room 304 (double queen). We went up to our room and noticed several things which indicated the room had not completely been prepared. The beds were mostly made, but the pillows didn't have the 'soft' or 'firm' straps on them - the straps were in the nightstand. There was also a pair of men's briefs on the back of the toilet, used soap in the tub soap tray and a used washcloth on the spout of the tub. We immediately contacted the front desk and he apologized and said he'd meet us at room 304 with new keys. He was prompt and very apologetic. We've traveled enough and had this happen in various levels of hotels...so it can happen in the best of places (including Disney). We were just grateful that there was another double queen available at that time and that our 'host' was so accommodating! We were also happy to see that this particular room didn't have a tub, but had a step in, glass enclosed shower!!! A bonus for us!!! This room had been fully prepped and was very comfortable!!! Many channels on the tv and a nice refrigerator with separate freezer compartment, and a microwave. The beds, although a little high for me (but fine for my taller husband & son) were very clean and comfortable - not bricks like we occasionally experience.
We experienced a 'slow toilet drain' and when husband went to front desk to request a plunger, was quickly given one, clean and 'wrapped' which once put into action quickly solved the problem.
The shower head had about 4-5 'spray' settings - all of which yielded a good pressure for bathing. (Only 'drawback' is that they 'soften' the water which makes it feel 'slimey' when trying to rinse. More and more hotels seem to be going this route - great for their pipes and cleaning, but lousy (in my opinion) on how clean I feel after bathing or trying to wash my hands. I feel like I use 2x as much water trying to get that slimey feeling off my skin - but I know that's 'just me' and not necessarily everyone's experience.)
The other issue we encountered was around 4 a.m., I woke up to notice the temp. in the room was rising (74) instead of the 70 I had set the a/c to be. (I like the room very cool when sleeping under the plush covers.) It was actually heating the unit like it was trying to 'de-ice' (you could hear 'cracking') the unit and then it would 'cool' to some degree, but never quite enough. Would have contacted front desk if it had been worse, but this was 'tolerable' for the remaining hours we would be asleep. I did inform the young man at the desk (same one who checked us in) that I thought the a/c in that room may be low on coolant. Again - he was very polite and apologetic. I do believe had this been a bigger issue with us that he would have compensated us in some form, but we didn't feel that was necessary as we know things can go wrong and it wasn't 'that big of a deal'. I was more concerned that they know so it could be repaired before the next guest.
Although we encountered a couple of issues - they were either easily and cheerfully resolved or were not significant enough to require immediate attention. I rated this property 'excellent' because even though everything wasn't 'perfect,' it really was excellent - the service, the accommodations, the price, and the location. We certainly plan to recommend this to others and also hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: Even number rooms face I-295 - which if you're easily distracted by light traffic noise, could p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_9A_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
So glad you found our hotel to be clean, convenient, and comfortable.
Your review will be submitted to our department managers during our next meeting. There is a great deal of information in your review and I appreciate your time in sharing your experience. Hope you will be returning soon. Thanks again.

Norman LeBert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at this place for the Georgia-Florida game. We had good sized room that was well appointed. The staff was eager to assist. The bed was comfortable and the housekeeping was attentive but non intrusive. The only issue I had was the shower handle isn't marked H and C so I had trouble finding the hot water setting. There also needs to be a little better signage on Baymeadows to direct folks to the hotel. All in all I would stay again and be glad to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_9A_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest
Nice to hear you had such a great time. We do hear from time to time about the disappointment with our signage. The city has a sign ordinance that specifically prohibits off-site signage. In addition the PUD of which we are a part of also prohibits off-site signage. Both us and the car dealership next door have been trying for some time to get some kind of signage approved for us out at the intersection. We have not given up on this even though many have told us it will never be allowed. So hopefully before your next visit you will see something we have come up with to overcome this problem. Maybe a reader who one day reads this can think of something and suggest something that will work and be allowed.
Hope to see you back next year if not sooner.
Thanks for taking time to share your comments.

Norman LeBert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Holiday Inn and our way from Miami to NY. We were so pleased with our stay we wanted to write in and recommend it to anyone in the area. The location is great (just off of I95) and the staff make this hotel a true find. We checked in late at night after a rental car issue and the staff was welcoming and helpful. The rooms are clean and modern and the included breakfast was delicious!!

Room Tip: Try the pancakes at breakfast. They're yummy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_9A_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I'm happy you found our hotel so nice. Sure hope to have you return soon and maybe not for having to get your car repaired next time. Maybe to buy a new one! Look forward to your return.

Norman LeBert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I had to be in Jacksonville 4 times this summer (2-3 nights). The only reason we didn't stay in this hotel all three times was because this hotel was sold out.

The staff and management are professional, personable and met our every need.

The rooms are excellent, newly furnished and kept very clean. The TV lineup is great (many channels) and there are a lot of outlets which is a big plus with cellphones, laptops, etc.

The buffet is delicious and the bar area is very comfy. Can you tell I really like this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_9A_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Your comments are very much appreciated. Glad to know you will be returning and we look forward to your return visit. Thank you, Norman LeBert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Holiday Inn at Baymeadows. Great location, helpful staff, especially great housekeeping staff! This Hoilday Inn is under new management and it shows!
Great value, nice people. You won't go wrong

Room Tip: If you like quiet....select room 611
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_9A_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
The title of your review is to the point and what we strive for every day. So glad to know you enjoyed yourself and found the location to be a great one. Hope you will return soon.

Norman LeBert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We just completed at two day workshop at this hotel and were very pleased with the overall event. The accommodations were comfortable, clean and had an impressive decor. Our members loved the buffet breakfast which was also kept clean and full. Although the hotel only serves breakfast and dinner, we were fortunate to have them cater lunch for our group of just over 100 people. It was wonderful and plentiful. The sales manager who assisted us was delightful, cheerful and very efficient in helping us meet our needs for the workshop. Although there is very little to do in the immediate vacinity of the hotel this location was very convenient for our members who came from all areas of the state. You will also find several good restaurants within 5 minutes from the hotel if you are spending several days. Another plus is that it is easy to get anywhere in the Jacksonville/St. Augustine area from this location. We plan to be back again next year for another workshop!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_9A_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
So happy to hear you had such a good time. I am also happy to hear you found our hotel to be convienient to St Augustine and to just about anywhere in Jacksonville. We will look forward to your return next year.

Norman LeBert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows

Address: 11083 Nurseryfields Drive, Jacksonville, FL 32256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#20 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#32 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 98 room hotel is located in the Deerwood business district and is connvenient to shops and eateries at he St. Johns TownCenter and the Avenues shopping mall. In addition, the University of North Florida Campus, Mayo Clinic, and Florida Community college South Campus are all nearby. The Hotel is located off of State Road I-295 east beltway and this makes it convenient for the business traveler to get anywhere in the city quickly and easily. Our restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner, closed for lunch. There are more than 15 great restaurants to eat within a one mile drive of the hotel such as Carrabas, Outback, Sticky Fingers and many more. We provide free highspeed internet access and all rooms have a refrigerator/freezer and microwave. Relax, it's Holiday Inn... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Jacksonville s-9a & Baymeadows Hotel Jacksonville
Holiday Inn Jacksonville s-9a And Baymeadows

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Jacksonville E 295 Baymeadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.