We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average with Wi-Fi issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295 to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7019 Commonwealth Ave, I-295, Exit 22, Jacksonville, FL 32220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #51 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average with Wi-Fi issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. Room was of average appearance with dated furniture and mattress/pillows. Upon entrance to lobby you are greeted by a friendly associate and are directed to the elevator if you are on floors 2,3 or 4. The elevator is very slow and small in size. Upon exiting the elevator on the 4th floor, I noticed a dehumidifier in the hallway. It makes one wonder if the mgt. is taking shortcuts with the HVAC system in using the dehumidifier(s).

Entrance into the room reveals a clean and tidy appearance, but it can be deceiving. Take a look at the photos and you will find some issues with dirt/dust build up in corners, especially in the restroom between the toilet and the wash basin. The toilet was clean as was the sink/tub. Take a look at the photos of the wall mounted HVAC system. You will see the air filters are very dirty as was HVAC unit itself. I took the cover and filters off/out and cleaned them in the bathtub. You can see the difference in the photos. In my opinion, if the hotel mgt. does not keep the HVAC system clean, what other shortcuts are being taken in regards to cleanliness?

On the two nights I tried to access the internet using the in house Wi-Fi I was unable to do so. I was able to connect to the router, but the log-in screen never popped up. I was able to use the hard wired Cat-5 cable next to the desk to access the internet.

The mattress was not very supportive and the pillows need to be replaced soon. The chair cushion at the desk was also compressed and did not offer support. If you intend to use the desk for work, beware of the amount of space. Your laptop/paperwork will compete with the lamp, phone and coffee maker. They do supply an iron/iron board and I did have to clean the iron as the iron had water left in it and the sole plate had white particulates around the steam holes. The room also offers a microwave and small refrig.

I did not eat breakfast but did notice that the hotel supplied USA Today in the lobby. For a hotel in the caliber of ChoiceHotels, I found this franchise to be on par with others around the country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfl793, General Manager at Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Mr. B...Thank you for your review of my hotel. I am pleased that your found our staff friendly and suites clean and tidy. We constantly receive praise on these two aspects of our award winning operation.

I will speak with engineering pertaining to the A/C comment to ensure proper maintenance. The dehumidifiers are placed in the hallways to work in concert with the central and unit A/C's to create a pleasant atmosphere for our honored guests as this is Florida and the nature of our tropical weather. I have recently invested money to make sure our wireless is of the highest caliber and am at a loss as to why it did not work properly for you - this I will check on.

I am sorry you missed our complimentary full hot breakfast buffet as our guests rate it 100/100 for variety, quality of food, service and cleanliness.

Again, thank you for your comments...

My Best,

Bill
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    23
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
32
22
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookeville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our daughter was graduating from Jacksonville University the weekend of May 3, 4 and 5, 2013. We had an awesome experience. The front desk associate/manager (Alicia) was extremely friendly, polite and helpful. She went out of her way to make sure we were happy. The rooms were clean and comfortable, as well as the rest of the hotel. Also - my elderly parents were with us for this visit. The covered, handicap accessible parking garage was perfect for us, especially because it rained solidly two of the three days we were there. They also had a pleasant experience. We would stay here again. Thank you very much!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfl793, General Manager at Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello Jesse...and thank you for your review! We are pleased your stay with us was satisfactory and certainly look forward to your return the next time you are in Jax.

My Best,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here on the nights of April 8 and 9, 2013 and have nothing negative to say. The hotel, even though older, was very well maintained, everything was clean and working, the employees very considerate and helpful. This is clearly a well managed hotel and I saw the Manager diligently check out the breakfast area and converse with guests. We would stay here again when coming back to Jacksonville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfl793, General Manager at Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks TaiTam1...For your positive post. Hope to see you again!


My Best,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while going to the Gator Nationals in Gainesville. Hotel was very clean as well as the room. Breakfast in the morning was very good with all the usually Choice Hotel foods. Staff at the hotel was always friendly and helpful. If I was in the area again I would stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfl793, General Manager at Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks PHATPAT is was our pleasure to be of service!

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Spend one night here while traveling. The hotel was fine. Quiet, convenient location, and clean. The front desk people, morning and night will speak to you as if you are a child. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfl793, General Manager at Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Good day...Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Jax.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had familycoming from out of town,so the guys and the boys stayed here since our house could not take care of all of our family.
We got two rooms,it was clean and the wi-fi was great,I got a lot of work done.
It was a mini vacation for me.
The kids and I used the fitness center,the hot breakfast was had a wide varity of food.
I will come back here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfl793, General Manager at Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Hello Ben...Thank you for the all positive review! I will share your comments with the staff and issue a well done.

My Best,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

we were on long drive to jacksonville, there were a few hotels in the arear. and we chose this one. and glad we did, Alicia at the front desk was so accomodating.from the minute we checked in until we left. we had to return our rental in the morning and our train didnt leave until 5pm. the manager Bill also. was very kind and understanding to let us stay in the room till 3pm at no extra charge.. the rooms are very clean, and a fitness center. and a nice full breakfast...i will reccommend this place anyone traveling through jacksonville....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfl793, General Manager at Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello Ms. C. & Family...Thank you for your feedback . We enjoyed having you with us and look forward to to seeing you again in the future.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295

Address: 7019 Commonwealth Ave, I-295, Exit 22, Jacksonville, FL 32220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern all suites AAA three diamond rated property. Complimentary full extensive hot buffet breakfast daily. All suites contain either one king or two queen Sealy upgraded bedding along with a sitting area with a couch that is a queen sleeper sofa. Other suite amenties are: microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, premium television channels and much more. Complimentary wireless internet throughout and also hard wired in the suites. Sparkling swimming pool. Nearby all Jacksonville attractions/venues.Conveniently located off I - two ninety five exit #twenty two with I - ten and I - ninety five close by. Many restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Jacksonville i-295 Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Jacksonville I-295, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.