We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverdale Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverdale Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riverdale Inn to your Saves list
Riverdale Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1521 Riverside Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Riverdale Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Our stay was comfortable and charming. Loved the cozy fireplace since we stayed over a chilly weekend. Breakfast was delish and owners were friendly. We stayed in Margaret's Room and although small met our needs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    32
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
104
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Purchased a Living Social deal for a 2 night stay. Had the choice of the St Johns room or the Roosevelt and due to timing and availability we ended up in the St Johns. It was clean and the bed/pillows were comfortable. However, there were several things that needed to be fixed or updated. The floor creaked loudly everywhere in the room and if one of us got up to use the bathroom at night, it woke the other one up. The caulking in the shower/tub was moldy and the curtain that covered the window in the shower had caulking and/or paint all over it (easy fix, just do it!). The closet door wouldn't latch and there was a large gap around the main door to the hallway which allowed a lot of light to come through at night. The a/c-fan-heater unit was in the wall near the ceiling and it rattled terribly so we had to keep it turned off. The wi-fi signal was very weak and only worked about 10% of the time. The walls and ceiling need to be fixed/painted as they look like there was water damage.

We looked at the Roosevelt before guests checked in and it looked like it was in better shape than the St Johns. I think we may have had the worst room in the house as so many of the reviews rate this place as excellent.

Good Stuff: Breakfast was decent and there is a nice bar that works on the honor system. The owners/staff are very nice. The location of the Inn is great.

Overall, our experience was okay but we know we will not return. We would have been disappointed if we had paid full price.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the St. Johns room (#5). Can't really comment on the others but I have to beli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Why would you ever book at a downtown Jacksonville hotel??? This home is close to downtown and walking distance to everything in Riverside/5 Points /Avondale neighborhoods. Your hosts are welcoming like family, the rooms are quiet and clean and very affordable. Don't stay anywhere else in Jacksonville.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here during a business trip. The owners and staff are great and very accommodating. You really feel like you are at your "home away from home." Very convenient within walking distance to to the downtown Riverside Avenue area restaurants and shops. Reasonable prices. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

First class B&B. very nice staff. Large nicely decorated and nicely furnished room. Great power shower. Superb location. Safe location near very nice park. Excellent breakfasts. Nice bar with honour system. Plenty of parking. Handsome house with historic aspects very well preserved. $2 million house value which reflects the quality of all aspects of the property.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very accommodating in all ways. Comfortable, very clean, helpful staff, overall felt like staying at a home away from home. Within walking distance to restaurants, five points, shopping, hospital and parks. Close to event venues

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I travel to Jacksonville on a regular basis for work and love staying here. It feels like a "home away from home" in way that the chain hotels can't match. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, each with their own personality. Breakfast is always good and Carolyn, Eric, Bob and Linda are very kind and welcoming. Aside from the Inn itself being wonderful, the neighborhood is great. Within a few blocks you can walk to a variety of restaurants and parks, including the Riverwalk which is the perfect place to run. I would highly recommend the Riverdale Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Inn

Address: 1521 Riverside Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverdale Inn in Jacksonville, Florida is located near the heart of the city in the historic Five Points area in Riverside. Our inn features 10 luxury rooms with a full service Pub for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverdale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.