We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverdale Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riverdale Inn to your Saves list
Riverdale Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1521 Riverside Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Destin, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very accommodating in all ways. Comfortable, very clean, helpful staff, overall felt like staying at a home away from home. Within walking distance to restaurants, five points, shopping, hospital and parks. Close to event venues

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    32
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
104
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tierra Verde, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I travel to Jacksonville on a regular basis for work and love staying here. It feels like a "home away from home" in way that the chain hotels can't match. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, each with their own personality. Breakfast is always good and Carolyn, Eric, Bob and Linda are very kind and welcoming. Aside from the Inn itself being wonderful, the neighborhood is great. Within a few blocks you can walk to a variety of restaurants and parks, including the Riverwalk which is the perfect place to run. I would highly recommend the Riverdale Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Down home, comfortable beds, good omelettes, and friendly folks. Two blocks from the Cummer Museum and half a block from the river with a beautiful view. Close to Mossfire Grill, The Derby on Park and Black Sheep. A wonderful way to see the city since we live 15 miles away at the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from visiting the charming Riverdale Inn, located in the Riverside neighborhood in Jacksonville, FL. It is a beautiful old home built in the 1800s but has been beautifully renovated, We stayed in the St, Johns room which was spacious and filled with morning sunlight. There was an inviting fireplace but the weather was too warm to even consider it. The Inn is within easy walking distance from several really good restaurants, Black Sheep is outstanding and has a cool roof bar - Bar Manager Matt was so friendlly and helpful. Also go to Derby on Park for good food and cool music. You can also walk down to the St Johns River and there is a wonderful park in the next block. The Riverdale Inn serves a wonderful full breakfast each morning - next time I am going for the Belgian waffle! Thanks to Caroline, Bob, Eric and all the staff. They truly are warm and hospitable people. Special thanks to Eric and his fiance for their help with our two misbehaving boys. We will come back again, but they are staying home! Highly recommend the Riverdale Inn.

Room Tip: St Johns is lovely, but I was able to see a couple of others and they were also beautiful.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our weekend at the Riverdale! This area of Jacksonville has a great history. We brought our bikes and boat but many activities you can just walk to. The Art Market under the 95 bridge is a must on Saturday's. The boat ramp was just across the bridge and we had a beautiful day getting a river view of the city up and down the St. Johns. We even participated in the Octoberfest in the park! The inn is very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Made you feel like a royal! We love to support local businesses and are eager to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Riverdale is always clean and neat. the breakfast is always fresh and are ready to accomodate special dietary needs - I have nothing negative at all to say about this fantastic place. I have stayed in most of the rooms but my favorite is Margaret's with all the windows

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband celebrated his 80th birthday last weekend. Our family members felt that the hospitality they were shown by the innkeepers was above and beyond excellent! They came from Ohio, Delaware, Toronto Canada, and Naples, Florida .The staff is warm and friendly, the rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. Each room has it's own "personality". To quote one member of our family, "breakfasts are to die for!!!I" In fact, they are so good that my husband and I walked over to the Inn from our condo just to join the family for breakfast and see if what our folks were raving about was true...and it was!!!

Eric, the Riverdale Inn chef catered a private a family dinner one night that was subperb and a party for 60 at the Inn on Saturday night. Many of our guests reported that the food was excellent and beautifully presented..the staff at the Inn very accommodating and the management made everyone feel like the Inn was "their home away from home". We plan to use Riverdale Inn in the future to put up family and friends. You get at lot of "bang for your buck"

If you want a place in an Historic Area, where you can walk to museums and restaurants and enjoy many "neighborhood activities" and the beautiful Memorial Park which is just a block from the Inn..... Riverdale Inn is the place to stay..It was a memorable experience for all!!

Room Tip: Can't pick just one room. They are all so individual, each one designed for comfort..with fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Inn

Address: 1521 Riverside Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverdale Inn in Jacksonville, Florida is located near the heart of the city in the historic Five Points area in Riverside. Our inn features 10 luxury rooms with a full service Pub for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverdale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.