We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, cozy and very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverdale Inn

Save Saved
You added Riverdale Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverdale Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1521 Riverside Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Cute, cozy and very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Really enjoyed it. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It's walking distance from a nice park and area with restaurants/coffee. The Inn is beautiful and it has a lot of character. Very clean and the inn keeper prevented me from leaving my phone plug behind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    28
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
94
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

though we live only an hour from Jacksonville - a business meeting with several out of town associates brought all of us the night before to the Riverdale Inn. What a frankly shocking delight! We may try to think of excuses in the future to come down and stay the night. This is a perfect spot for families, couples, friends, business or solo !! The Inn is lovely. First of all - it is beautifully restored and decorated. Each (large) room is beautiful (doors of vacant rooms are left open, which feels inviting and allows for peeks. The owners have esquisite taste. Though a historic property - the bathrooms in each room have been completely renovated with current fixtures and conveniences. Second - the housekeeping has to be mentioned - the entire Inn 'shined' - not a speck of dust anywhere. Third, The entire first floor is "public" - including a lovely sitting room with fireplace, a huge dining room with many tables for 2/4. and a small pub area just inside the back door (and porch). Fourth, Everyone was friendly and helpful without being intrusive at all. TV and Internet everywhere. and finally -- breakfast was really surprising - quite a menu for a B & B - with orders taken, dishes presented and removed - - no 'serve yourself' here (except for coffee and OJ). I cannot recomment The Riverdale Inn enough. (please read the review below mine also - as she gives great detail as well). There are several very good restaurants in the area - we enjoyed a fabulous dinner at the Black Sheep - - just across the park from the Inn - - highly recommended!

Room Tip: oops - in my exhuberance i mentioned a swimming pool (and there is no way to 'undo' that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

After a long day travelling, Riverdale Inn was the perfect place to end up. The staff was exceedingly helpful and friendly. Check-in was a breeze. And the location was convenient to everything I needed. Riverdale Inn has a very homely feel as opposed to the usual institutional and stiff feel of a standard hotel. I wish there was a Riverdale in all the cities I travel to. By far the best accommodations I could ask for. And the location is right on the water and park - next time I'll bring my running shoes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Riverdale Inn in Jacksonville is perfectly located near downtown and the river. You can walk to parks, beautiful neighborhoods and some shops. Dining in Avondale is a treat. The rooms are comfortable and the hosts are friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
428 helpful votes 428 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

As many others have mentioned, the Riverdale Inn is in a great location, a short walk to Memorial Park and the restaurants and shops of Five Points. Bob, the owner, is a natural host, and my wife and I enjoyed our evening conversation with him in the small bar downstairs. We stayed in the Park Suite, a pretty and light-filled room with a comfortable bed and a love seat for TV watching.

On the downside, the Park Suite has no place to hang clothing; no closet, no armoire, not even a wall hook. The air conditioning unit is a bit noisy. The TV is an old, small, cathode-ray tube type, and I haven't seen one like that in a hotel or B&B in years. Breakfast was OK -- an omelet with cheese grits, bacon, toast, and a slice of cantaloupe -- served perfunctorily; my most memorable B&B stays have involved much more creativity and care in that second "B."

While I rate Riverdale Inn "very good" for its more pleasing and pleasant aspects, the downsides really shouldn't be there considering the price of the rooms. If I stay in the area again, I'll consider other options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdaleinn, Owner at Riverdale Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for the input. I have replaced the CRT with a new 37 inch LCD Television. It is hard to replace something that is old but works ok. That what I keep telling my wife that I still work ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a charming period house which has been very tastefully rennovated by the owners. The rooms are spaceous and well appointed. The owners make you feel instantly welcome and the place has a relaxed friendly atmosphere. The inn, in a quiet district near Memorial Park, is close to the river and an attractive riverside walkway which makes for a pleasant 20-30 minute walk to the city centre. We only had two nights at the Riverdale but would happily have stayed longer. We'd have no hesitation in going back - it's a gem!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Riverside Inn abiut three times, and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Staff very nice, helpful, friendly. The rooms are clean and breafast is very good. It's located just two minutes from the I85 and it's a nice walk to restaurants and a black from a park on the Bay. What is so wonderful about this inn is the sense of place that is rare nowadays to find.

Room Tip: rooms in second and third floor make you feel in the old, deep South. stella
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Inn

Address: 1521 Riverside Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverdale Inn in Jacksonville, Florida is located near the heart of the city in the historic Five Points area in Riverside. Our inn features 10 luxury rooms with a full service Pub for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Riverdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverdale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.