We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverdale Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riverdale Inn to your Saves list
Riverdale Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1521 Riverside Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Great location--right off I-95. Walking distance to several parks and the Riverwalk (great for runners and walkers alike).

The rooms are spacious and individually decorated. The jacuzzi tub in the Windsor suite is a great amenity. Enjoy hot coffee and juice early in the morning and a homemade hot breakfast each day!
A scrumptious high tea is available with a second day stay.

The house was large enough to have a variety of indoor and outdoor sitting areas. One can relax and enjoy the ambiance.

10-15 minutes from the St. Johns Town Center for shopping and dining. Walking distance to Cummer Art and Gardens.

Just a great place to stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    32
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
104
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011 via mobile

I live in the Riverside area of Jacksonville and have been having my family stay here when they come to visit. Everyone I have had stay here has absolutely loved it! The house is gorgeous and the staff is so nice and accommodating! They have a room or connecting rooms perfect for any situation. It is in a great area; only a block from the river and a few blocks from great shopping and restaurants!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in the Carriage House. It had the two twin beds- off the main house. It was very clean quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was also very nice. A true B & B !! We will stay there again. The staff were very friendly and kind.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I've stayed in many B&Bs over the years throughout the US and while the location of the Riverdale Inn is fantastic and the exterior of the Inn is beautiful, I, unfortunately, have to say that I was not very impressed overall. While the breakfast was certainly adequate, I have to agree with others that it was rather basic. Also, we stayed multiple nights and each morning the breakfast options were the same. Furthermore, while the Inn describes itself as a "Victorian Inn," we found that much of the decor did not reflect this style. For example, there are contemporary "bistro" pictures hanging throughout the downstairs and some of the rooms even feature lazy-boy-style recliners in them. We also felt that for the price paid our room should have been better maintained. Our room had a large window-style heater/air cooler in it that did not function, nor did it appear as though it had been functioning for quite some time. Why the owners of the Inn don't remove this, I'm not sure. Also, our bathroom had large "patches" on the walls. At first I thought that perhaps they had been done recently and the owners simply hadn't had the chance to paint over them yet, but upon inspection my partner said that these patches had been done some time ago and as such should have been painted over to match the rest of the walls. It seemed odd that an Inn that charges anywhere from $150-$200 a night would leave large patches on the walls unpainted. It is for these reasons that I can't give this Inn a 5 star rating. I personally felt, based upon my experiences at other B&Bs, that there is a lot of attention to detail that is lacking. Again, this Inn has a great location and is lovely on the exterior, but overall I do not feel that the prices they charge reflect the quality that they provide. I wanted to love this Inn, but sadly did not.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I've stayed at Riverdale Inn on several occasions. My grandparents live in the Riverside area of Jacksonville and there are not any hotel chains in the nearby area. On this most recent trip I stayed just one night and had reserved a room in the Carriage House (the least expensive one). Upon my arrival the innkeepers graciously upgraded me to a room in the main house which was more convenient for me (and probably for them, too.) The bed was comfortable and bathroom was fine. Yummy soaps! Everyone is friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is basic but good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary with a weekend getaway to the Jacksonville area. This B&B was the perfect little place for us to call home for a few days. The room was cute and the hospitality was superb. The inn is walking distance to the landing, a museum, a weekend arts market, and a quaint little restaurant district. In addition to a filling breakfast, we had the opportunity to enjoy high tea at the inn. As newbies to this English inspired lunch we didn't quite know what to expect. It turned out to be outstanding. We even hunted down a recipe from the inn keeper. This is a great little place and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Comfy, Quiet, Convenient.
I stay in Jax often, and this is the best spot.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Inn

Address: 1521 Riverside Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverdale Inn in Jacksonville, Florida is located near the heart of the city in the historic Five Points area in Riverside. Our inn features 10 luxury rooms with a full service Pub for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverdale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.