We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverdale Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riverdale Inn to your Saves list
Riverdale Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1521 Riverside Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were looking for a romantic place close to home to spend the night, so we stayed here, had fun, and enjoyed ourselves.

If you're into this type of old inn, you will probably like it too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    32
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
104
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We knew this was a 4-star inn when we missed our flight from NYC, and got in close to midnight, and they were still waiting for us to arrive. The staff were gracious. Our third floor room was delightful-- spacious, well laid out, great bathroom, and facing the back so it was quiet and like being in a treehouse. There were several choices of hot breakfasts each morning. The inn has been immaculately kept up, and is in a very nice neighborhood, a block in from the river. One night we had drinks on the porch with family who were also in for a family occasion. This is a can't miss inn, and is the nicest of the B&B's I've stayed in there in Jacksonville.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Riverdale was a great stay - great service, very comfortable room with character, nice breakfast, everything was perfect. Would definitely stay again. Regret that we were only there for a one-night stay. If anything, the "con" would be that the stay was a bit on the "pricey" side.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I purchased a package for this inn from Living Social.com. The Inn was beautiful and in a lovely area of Jacksonville right by the river (what a great place to visit). The owners were really nice and very helpful. Excellent breakfast! This trip was my mom & me, but my husband and I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We enjoyed a two-night stay at Riverdale Inn and every aspect of our experience proved superior. The room was clean and aesthetically appealing; the common areas were comfortable and inviting. Both days we enjoyed a delicious breakfast -- beautifully presented. Riverdale Inn is located a short walk from Memorial Park, the lovely Cummer Museum and several fun dining establishments, so there's no need to travel far. Still, we enjoyed nearby Fernandina Beach and Amelia Island during a day trip. Though we were pleased on every front, the highlight may have been our brief interactions with the staff: to a person they were gracious and helpful -- accommodating, fun and helpful without crowding. Well done!

Room Tip: Street side has afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This B&B is a gem and is a must stay if you want a change from pace from a regular "Box" hotel. If you like charm, antiques and a friendly atmosphere this is that place to stay. We definitely plan on staying here again. The staff/owners are friendly and service is beyond compare. The breakfast, which is included, is scrumptous.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

My new wife and I stayed here for the first two nights of our honeymoon in the Windsor Suite, which was on the top floor of the main building. I found and booked the room online after a Google search, and after perusing their website for room information. While the photos of the buildings and the room we picked make it appear larger than it seems to be, there was still plenty of space for our needs. Even though we were there on a holiday weekend, there were only two other guests out of the ten or twelve rooms available. This made the place very quiet, feeling downright private. Unfortunately for those with lots of luggage, there is no elevator to the higher floors, so dragging luggage upstairs was a bit of a chore. A couple of the staff helped us unload our car, and by and large all the staff members were appropriately attentive. (I never seemed to see more than one at a time, though.) The room itself was gorgeous, with a large and comfy bed to sleep on, though seemingly little drawer space to unpack clothes--unless I didn't pay enough attention to the antique furniture to know I could use it, it looked so nice. The bathroom for the room was spacious, as I'd requested the one room whose bathroom had both a shower and a hot tub. (Careful with the drain cap on that tub, though; I scratched my leg by accident and the scar still hasn't gone away a month later. My fault, though.) The bar/breakfast room gave a feeling of luxury, and the food is prepared fresh for breakfast. Breakfast is cooked to order, though guests are only given a chance to choose between two items. It is definitely more expensive than a standard retail hotel, as I believe two nights here cost almost as much as five nights somewhere else. That said, for the purpose I had in choosing it, the Riverdale Inn was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Inn

Address: 1521 Riverside Avenue, Jacksonville, FL 32204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverdale Inn in Jacksonville, Florida is located near the heart of the city in the historic Five Points area in Riverside. Our inn features 10 luxury rooms with a full service Pub for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hotel Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverdale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.