We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Talbot Island State Park

Little Talbot Island State Park
12157 Heckscher Drive, Jacksonville, FL 32226
904–251–2320
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 70 Attractions in Jacksonville
Type: Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On Little Talbot Island, construction of the Timucuan State and National Parks Multi-Use Trail is underway. The first phase of the trail will span more than 2 miles through coastal habitat of Little Talbot Island.
Sebring, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Drove from downtown Jacksonville looking for a trail to run. It was a easy drive with scenic views. Once I got there I was happy with my decision. I parked in the parking lot and walked to the wooded part of the Dune ridge trial. The trail is 2 mile in the woods and 2 miles on the beach. The wooded trail was sandy, shaded and ended on the beach. Make sure you go at low tide. The beach was beautiful and firm enough to run on. Make sure you check on the time the access to the park is closed. The run was wonderful and by the time I got back to the parking lot the sunset was close. I watched the sunset and enjoyed the extraordinary view. Do not forget your camera. I had my phone (Nokia Lumia 1020) and took some great pics.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    60
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque NM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kingsley Plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

If you want to understand the history and the life in this area, this is the place to start. If you are coming from Jacksonville, drive down Mayport road to the Mayport ferry, and enjoy the ride with your vehicle, then drive 10 minutes to Kingsley Plantation. Walk to the office by the River, and ask for a self-guided audio tour phone. It is free. It lasts about 90 minutes if you go to each area, but believe me it is so very worth your time. You will leave with so much knowledge and will want to learn more. It's beautiful and so informative, you will be so appreciative that you spent your time wisely.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful, untouched nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Little Talbot Island is home to some gorgeous scenery and amazing nature! My boyfriend and I just went for a day trip, and we decided to take a walk on the trail there (they have many trails, but if you just drive up and ask them about a trail they have a 4-mile one). We did have a couple of problems with the trail:
- I had asked the man working at the booth when you drive in what the bugs were like, and he told us they were not bad at all that day. We were getting EATEN UP the entire walk, so badly that it was not even enjoyable! He clearly didn't know what he was talking about.
- The men working at the booth didn't think to mention to us that at high tide you CAN'T walk along the beach! There literally was NO beach to walk on, the water was all the way up to the dunes! We walked for almost 45 minutes through the forest, excited about being rid of the mosquitoes once we hit the beach (half of the walk is supposed to be along the beach!) just to have to turn back around and go right back through the forest. The scenery was stunning, but it would have been much more enjoyable to be able to walk along the beach.

While the state park itself is amazing, they really need to work on their customer service.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quiet Spot Out Of The City....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Quiet Spot Out Of The City....

This is a good spot to let the kids run on the beach, take a romantic walk or just sit and watch the sea. Good size waves today, but dirty water.

This place has some pavilions next to the dunes for parties and things but they seem to require reservations in advance.

There are not many activities or things to really do other than that though, so if you want adventure this is not that place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice sandy beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A very nice peaceful place. If you are sick of the crowdness of Jax beach, please come to little talbot. You will enjoy the "private beach" so much. We also did canoeing one time and we paddled to a sandy beach. Everybody was amazed by the beautiful sandy beach. I highly recommend it. You can also do kayaking too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Talbot Island State Park also viewed

 

Been to Little Talbot Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Talbot Island State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.