We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Food - fast and cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tidbits

Tidbits
1076 Hendricks Ave., San Marco, Jacksonville, FL
904/396-0528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 1,864 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh Food - fast and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went to Tidbits for lunch and was pleasantly surprised. The menu is full of great sandwich and salad options. Everything seemed super fresh and good sized portions. Prices were very reasonable and food came out quickly. No complaints!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WannaBTraveling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Averill Park, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food, get there before the crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Ate here twice while attending a meeting. Had the taco salad both days. Other people in the group had sandwiches and salads and we all agreed the food was fantastic. I had the homemade strawberry shortcake, excellent dessert. Reasonably priced, around $8 for a large salad or sandwich and large drink. Very crowded at lunchtime but lines move right along. Lots of tables inside to eat at. Very clean.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Farrell105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Long live the Salad Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This landmark lunchroom could close the serve-yourself dine-in operation and it would still make a fortune with its catering business. I never stray from the salad bar as my lunch entree, although I see lots of sandwiches around me. Everything at the salad bar is top quality, but Clara's homemade potato salad (Southern Style) is as good as anybody's Dixie grandma made or makes. This place deserves 5 of 5 for its freshness and for its downhome originality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“It's Just Sandwiches & Salad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I'm not sure what the appeal is I know a few people who love coming here for lunch. The majority of the menu is cold sandwiches & salads that you can easily make at home. There are no exotic/unique ingredients being used and nothing on the menu that you can't get at any office building cafeteria. I had the egg salad and it was bland (as well as the accompanying pasta salad). A friend of mine ordered a salad and asked for avocado on top (but didn't get the avocado). Nothing special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mommydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always fresh, best chicken salad in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This great lunch place is located near downtown, and is always busy. They are open from 11-2 and the food is always freshly made. Great selection of sandwiches, salads and even gumbo. Everything I have had here is wonderful, and they even have Cherry Limade. Fresh salad bar every day. People could not be more friendly and very efficient.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank swimmomjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidbits also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Tidbits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing