We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Food - fast and cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tidbits

Tidbits
1076 Hendricks Ave., San Marco, Jacksonville, FL
904/396-0528
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #76 of 1,721 restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh Food - fast and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went to Tidbits for lunch and was pleasantly surprised. The menu is full of great sandwich and salad options. Everything seemed super fresh and good sized portions. Prices were very reasonable and food came out quickly. No complaints!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    23
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Averill Park, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, get there before the crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Ate here twice while attending a meeting. Had the taco salad both days. Other people in the group had sandwiches and salads and we all agreed the food was fantastic. I had the homemade strawberry shortcake, excellent dessert. Reasonably priced, around $8 for a large salad or sandwich and large drink. Very crowded at lunchtime but lines move right along. Lots of tables inside to eat at. Very clean.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Long live the Salad Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This landmark lunchroom could close the serve-yourself dine-in operation and it would still make a fortune with its catering business. I never stray from the salad bar as my lunch entree, although I see lots of sandwiches around me. Everything at the salad bar is top quality, but Clara's homemade potato salad (Southern Style) is as good as anybody's Dixie grandma made or makes. This place deserves 5 of 5 for its freshness and for its downhome originality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“It's Just Sandwiches & Salad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I'm not sure what the appeal is I know a few people who love coming here for lunch. The majority of the menu is cold sandwiches & salads that you can easily make at home. There are no exotic/unique ingredients being used and nothing on the menu that you can't get at any office building cafeteria. I had the egg salad and it was bland (as well as the accompanying pasta salad). A friend of mine ordered a salad and asked for avocado on top (but didn't get the avocado). Nothing special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always fresh, best chicken salad in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This great lunch place is located near downtown, and is always busy. They are open from 11-2 and the food is always freshly made. Great selection of sandwiches, salads and even gumbo. Everything I have had here is wonderful, and they even have Cherry Limade. Fresh salad bar every day. People could not be more friendly and very efficient.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidbits also viewed

 

Been to Tidbits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidbits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.