We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Bland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of China Buffet (Argyle Forest)

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Buffet (Argyle Forest)
6001 Argyle Forest Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32244-6664
(904) 779-9898
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #969 of 1,740 restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Enterprise
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good But Bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We ate there three times on two occasions, 1 year apart.
The buffet has a big selection and the food is fresh, but the taste is bland. Nothing spicy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    3
    7
    2
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Great food good deal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

One of the best layouts of food for an excellent price. This place is one of my favorites. The food is always fresh and the selection one of the best. Why pay $15 a plate and get only one item when you can get dozens of item for about half the price. The service is also excellent, they make sure your drinks are filled and help when needed.
I highly recommend this place when you are hungry and just can't decide what it is you want.

If you find this helpful please mark it so.
Berny

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Honey Chicken is the star of the show. Also, the white rice is as close to what we got in Japan that I have found. Great selection of dishes, hot and fresh. They also have a Mongolian BBQ and sushi bar. Go for lunch - the food is the same and the prices are much lower.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

my two boys were wanting Chinese food so we made our way to China Buffet which we have been to before ..we were seated in the girl took the drink order..I proceeded to go make a plate for each of my boys I picked up two plates proceeded to put some rice on one plate..when I notice a German cockroach dead on the plate.I got the attention of one of the workers and they just made a really awful face in disgust and took the plate to the back..I then went back to the table and explained to my husband what just happened.. three of our for drinks were on the table and the waitress asked if everything was okay when I told her what happened about the plate with the roach on it she just turned and walked away and came back with the fourth drink ...nothing was ever said ..so we left and needless to say we will never be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Enjoyed the food and service, but charged us $2.50 each for drinks we never had. I think it's a better deal to buy the buffet and pay per box if you have a family to feed and are staying at a local motel.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Buffet (Argyle Forest) also viewed

 

Been to China Buffet (Argyle Forest)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Buffet (Argyle Forest), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.