We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food...service could have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Diner

Metro Diner
3302 Hendricks Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32207-5302
904-398-3710
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,775 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Food...service could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were a party of 6. The wait was about 30 minutes.
Our food was totally worth the wait. I recommend the New Orleans shrimp and grits. It was amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    152
    32
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Petersburg, Fl
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The Best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We saw this diner featured on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives a few years ago but only got to Jacksonville last week to try it. I wish this place was within driving distance of home because we'd definitely be there all the time. The food and service were excellent.

My husband had the baked hoagie with homemade chips. He said it was the best sandwich he's ever had and the chips were very good, not greasy the way house made chips often are. I had the three cheese grilled cheese sandwich (with added tomato) and hashbrowns (with added jalapenos but you can get them plain or with about 10 other options like bacon or onions). I'm a cheese lover and this sandwich ticked all the boxes for a perfect grilled cheese sandwich - well grilled bread, crunchy on the outside, fully melted cheese … yummm.

The servers were very nice and efficient and, although we had a primary server, they all worked together to make sure we weren’t missing/needing anything.

We went on a week day just after prime lunch hour (arriving about 1:00pm). The inside was packed and had a wait list, we lucked out and got a table on the sidewalk right away. The outside tables are on the side of the restaurant and are unfortunately near the road so when cars/trucks with exhaust issues have to idle at the stop sign, one does get some exhaust fumes. That didn’t happen too often and I would still sit there again but if one is very sensitive to fumes you’d probably do better with a table inside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently visited 2 if the locations in Jacksonville. At lunch on a Friday at the Hendricks ave location, there were people lined out the door to get a table, so we knew that was a good sign. We ordered our lunch to go. The Italian hoagie and fries and also waffles with blueberries and a side of bacon. From the phone call to order right down to waiting inside for my order, the girls working could teach a class on customer service! Our second experience was a few days later for breakfast at the jax beach location. Excellent food and excellent service again. Also, very clean restrooms. Look forward to coming back on another trip to Jacksonville!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This puts J-ville on Foodie Map”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had the chicken and waffles and shrimp and grits for breakfast, and both were ohhhhh so gooood!

Expect a wait- this place is absolutely a Jacksonville institution. Service is impeccable. If you can, sit at the counter to watch the cooks in action. It is an impressive site to see.

Menu items offer a twist on s one familiar southern dishes. Check out the Diners, drive-Ins, and Dives video clip on YouTube.

Big thumbs up for this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALDOSTA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Eatery!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were inspired to try Metro Diner due to it being showcased on Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives. Well, Guy's description of the diner was quite accurate. I tried the Hala on a square....oh my goodness...my palette danced on the first bite. It was sweet, but not too sweet....it was just right. The presentation was great, taste was great, atmosphere was great...really good experience. Hubby had the crab cakes & steak eggs Benedict. He said it was great & he finished it all....I couldn't finish all of mine. I ate one half & was quite proud of myself. Tips: parking is minimal, so expect to look for parking & walking back to the restaurant. There was a wait to get seated, about twenty minutes. So you will be outside sitting ( if lucky) & waiting to be seated. However, it will present the opportunity to chat with the locals because according to them when you live locally visiting Metro is at least a once a week event. By the way, the chicken & waffles with strawberry butter looked good also - I'm trying that on the next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Diner also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Metro Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.