We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best bbq in JAX” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 4 Rivers Smokehouse

4 Rivers Smokehouse
9220 Baymeadows Road, Jacksonville, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,678 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“best bbq in JAX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

first ran across this restaurant in Winter Park, so now they're in JAX, had to stop by. This 6th generation Texan knows his 'que and this is without a doubt, the best bbq brisket outside of Austin.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    62
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Fl
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Under-smoked, Lukewarm, Cafeteria Atmosphere.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We read other reviews and expected to be impressed, but were very disappointed. Brisket looked and tasted like a greasy pot roast. Ribs were barely warm. Frankly, the only things we liked was the grits and biscuits.The bakery goods looked really nice, but after the overpriced meal, we decided we'd had enough and left.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“BBQ in Jax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Worth the visit food is very good attempts to stay true to the BBQ style dinning. BBQ sauces have great flavor personally a fan of the mustard based sauce. Portions are a little small but they load you up with sides so there is no shortage of food, however personally when. I go for BBQ I go for the meat! Smoked turkey and pulled chicken are both very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Most Tasty Barbeque I've had in years.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

One word review -> Tasty!!
Since moving halfway across the country I've struggled with the barbeque restaurants meeting my approval in this town. Many are ok but just not as tasty as the ones that I was used to going to. I first discovered this when visiting Orlando and noticed they had a location nearer where I lived. This is exactly the same in quality as the other location, a good thing. There is a wide variety of meats and cuts to choose from. The portions are large and sides are all good. The sauces that they had were all very tasty as well.
You walk through the ordering line and everything is served on a cafeteria tray lined with brown paper or cups for sides.
They have a very attractive looking desert counter but I didn't bother with the sweets.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must go here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Absolutely smells delicious here & food just as good as it smells. Cute little sweets shop attached. I tried the mountain dew and dorito cupcake... it was actually not bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Rivers Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to 4 Rivers Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 4 Rivers Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.