We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navy Gateway Inns & Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacksonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Gateway Inns & Suites
Save
You added Navy Gateway Inns & Suites to your Saves list
3100 Mayport Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32233   |  
Hotel amenities
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Suites are comfortable and spacious. Room service does a great job keeping the rooms clean. Close to a small fitness center, Golf Course, and plenty of areas to jog/run. The T-Bar on the first deck is open 1500-2100 and a nice place to unwind and sit by the river.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of building 844 face the St. John's River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I am going to try to write the review as unbiased as I can and let you decide if it is where you want to stay. 3100 Mayport drive will not get you here if you are using a GPS. The staff was very friendly when I checked in after a 12 hour drive to get here. For the most part, the room is quiet. I heard someone above us a few times but only for a minute or two at a time. It wasn't too disturbing. For this trip it was just my wife and me. The hotel is steps from the beach which was nice. there is plenty of food places in the area. The rooms had a full kitchen set up with a full refrig. The bathroom as has been elegantly stated has a sink, a toilet and a shower. Water pressure gets the job done, but if youre looking for a three headed shower that will massage you etc, you wont find it. The bedroom was clean. It had a double bed. for me this was the worst. The bed was comfortable but I'm used to a king size bed so sleeping was difficult. The bed was very comfortable though. We were here in Sept so the AC kept up. The problem with the AC is it is right beside the bed and blows directly on you. Overall, if I had to come down again, I may try the NGIS at Jacksonville NAS instead but for $50, it will do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at the Navy Gateway Inns and Suites in Meridian, Ms. Naval Station Room #164. This is what I encountered.
1. Soap dish in shower torn off and not replaced
2 Very dirty commode
3. no soap dish on the mount provided by lavatory
4 Stove didn't work
5 Black mold around tub and shower grout
6 Inside bathroom handle came off in my hand

Room Tip: Inspect room before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Navy Afloat
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Right on the beach - perfect location! That is the only good thing.

CONS:
-Roaches - big huge FL roaches in the room!
-AC is horrible. Lowest setting is 73 - but room never reaches that setting in the hot summer months. Air flow is non existent.
-Shower head is the same shower head from boot camp and prisons......yes, prisons! Absolutely no water flow whatsoever.

Do not stay here if you expect comfort. If you just want the beach and a hot room....this is the place for you.....

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, sc
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Navy Gateway Inns and Suites in Mayport, FL July 17-20, 2013. This was the second time we have stayed there. The inn is very clean and is situated directly on a wide beautiful beach with no crowds of people. It is located adjacent to the fames Mayport Jetties which offer great fishing without a boat. Our room was cleaned daily and everything was great except they don't allow the air conditioning to cool lower than about 73 degrees which is warmer that we are used to. A ceiling fan did help though. An in room Keurig Coffee Maker is available and they restock the coffee and supplies each day.

Room Tip: The inn is 3 stories and there is no elevator so you may want to request a ground level floor if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Navy Gateway Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Gateway Inns & Suites

Address: 3100 Mayport Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32233
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Jacksonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navy Gateway Inns & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.