We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly is the best I can say” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
10334 Southside Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32256-0706
+1 904-363-9090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #432 of 1,740 restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Phillips Highway
Transit: JTA bus stop at Avenues Mall.
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Family Friendly is the best I can say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Maybe best for families? For those looking for quality Italian food you'll do better at Maggiano's or Carrabba's, though. We tried Buca twice and were disappointed with the service, the food, and the cleanliness of the restaurant. Perhaps they've improved?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    28
    14
    8
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Training Needed! Poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing but the service was horrible. Staff speaking about other guests and co-workers in front of us, took at least 10 minutes to get our drinks (we ate at the bar) absentminded staff and overall communication issues for something as simple as getting silverware. Saw a server bring back a glass of wine because a guest asked for a clean glass; the bartender just wiped the rim of the glass and sent it back. Again, amazing food, horrible service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“I am not a fan of family style, want a smaller portion.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

While the food and service was good, I didn't like the menu. Everything you could order came for 2 or 4 people. My husband and I don't generally like the same dishes, so we ordered something different, however, each of these items fed two people. Too much food and I didn't really want to take home to reheat. Also, if you are looking for the bill to stay low, its impossible because you have to order a bigger portion and pay the price. If you had an option to choose just a normal portion of a meal, I would go back, but not for the family style menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ordered some drinks at the bar. Bloody Mary's had no taste; all ice, no hot sauce, no stirrer or coaster given. Waited 15 minutes at table and then had to go get a server. Received appetizer and had to ask for dishes. Sent one dish back because it was cold and never saw it again. Food was ok.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DONT GO THERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Ordered chicken parm. while waiting I had to un-stick my shoes from the floor. No kidding. My shoes literally were sticking to the "goop" on the floor under the table. Had to get waiter to lower the music, waitress was trying to be "ultra-cool"...and act concerned and "hip".... Ok so music too loud and shoes stuck to floor.....food comes....start eating and notice my chicken parm is a bit too chewy....cut open the second piece...and yup....NOT COOKED! Chicken not cooked....RAW CHICKEN! Are you kidding me? Just as I cut it, the manager walked by and asked how everything was...I showed her, she was agast and skurried to replace it....which she did, took about 15 minutes....apoligized and also offere free desert (thanks, no no thanks)....fortunately i am not sick (yet)....they did not charge me for my dinner, rightfully so. Left (after waiting 10 minutes for waitress to finish "chatting" with next table), all the while noticing the putrid and dirty floors throughout the entire place. Doesn't look like they have mopped in ages.....Horrible. Never go there again. Over priced as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the location in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buca di Beppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.