We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoyable, relaxed atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harpoon Louie's

Harpoon Louie's
4070 Herschel St, Ste 9, Jacksonville, FL 32210-2239
904-389-5631
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #574 of 1,740 restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Good for: Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable, relaxed atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

It's always fun to go to Harpoon Louises, "the game" is always on one of several TV's, they have two pool tables, and a perfect outside deck on Fishweir Creek. The staff is always friendly and do their best to make sure your meal is cooked to your liking. My visit last week was very good. I had the mushroom swiss burger and my friend had the Hot wings. They have some of the best chicken wings around. Some of my other favorites are the shrimp and grits, chicken salad sandwich and fish tacos with home made mango salsa. Yummy! As far as negatives I would have to say when they're busy it may take a little longer to get your food. I will continue to go to Harp's, where they treat you like family.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    6
    8
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Serves the fastest cold beer in the south!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I frequent this quirky spot frequently and not just because it's around the corner from where we live. The menu is fun and often has new items. The food is
reasonable and delicious, everytime! But what we love the most, you barely have sat down (you seat yourself) and poof! The cocktail fairy appears, takes your order and seconds later you have an icy cold beverage in front of you served with a smile. The seating outside is rustic and even on the hottest days the trees provide decent shade.
Inside there are more tables, a bar and pool tables. This has been a long time favorite of lots of people in the Riverside area and I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, fl
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is our neighborhood eatery. We go there a few times a month. Laid back atmosphere and good food. If you like wings order them Carls Way! You can sit on the porch and see the water and you can bring your dog. If you are in the area and like good casual food you should try Harpoons!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Burgers in Jax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I live right down the street from Harpoon Louie's abd love goin with my family. So many people enjoy it and the servers are very friendly! If you ever visit Jacksonville, you must go to Harpoon Louie's!

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax fl
1 review
“It is excellent !! has been under new managment and those who didn't like it in the past should go back"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I have been coming here for years and I read the other posts and don't disagree with some of them , like rude staff and slow time but that was before the new owners took over about four years ago. I have always loved sitting outside and even inside too. They have 5 tvs now but aren't really known for a sports bar. they are an excellent choice for families and we even bring our dog. who is well behaved, mind you! I know the owners a little and they seem really nice. they have kids about the same age as ours. i do reccomend trying it again! GREAT FOOD!!!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harpoon Louie's also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Harpoon Louie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpoon Louie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.