We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chart House

The Chart House
1501 Riverplace Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32207-9034
904-398-3353
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #243 of 1,774 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Prudential Drive
Transit: Downtown Tram
IL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place seemed a little dated but the food was pretty good. Service was great and the steak was very good. The waiter was very good and right there when you needed him. Food came out quickly. Clam Chowder was very good. I would return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    54
    31
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Waterfront restaurant with mixed results on food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Seared tuna was absolutely special. Perfect searing, fork tender, with delicious wasabi drizzle. Mashed potatoes that accompanied the dish were nice and chunky and flavored with ginger shavings. The shrimp scampi was disappointing. The shrimp were small and over cooked. The sauce was a bit dull tasting. The salad bar is about $17 on its own or $9 with an entree. That price was not warranted by the items offered. The food is not inexpensive so I think of it more as a special occasion restaurant where the price is driven more by location than high food quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Romantic setting, expensive, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you have a special occasion, this is a great place to go. Reserve a waterfront table and order the chocolate soufflé. There is caviar on the salad bar and servings are generous. Service is slow and not very attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Not very good, wouldn't get take-out from this restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a long day in Jacksonville on business. This restaurant was right next to our hotel, so we stopped in at about 5pm for take-out. I got coconut shrimp - which was just 10 shrimp with nothing else thrown in a big styrofoam container - and cost $23! I also ordered their specialty chopped salad - it was old - likely from the day before - almost the consistency of cole slaw, very soggy and limp. Ugh, could not eat it. Don't remember the price, $7 or $8 - I was too tired to take it back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Chart House was excelllent food. Our service was a bit slow but the staff was gracious. The view over the St. Johns river was amazing. Our waiter took our order only to come back and say that the all 3 of our orders were not available on a Saturday night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chart House also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to The Chart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chart House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.