We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice upgrade of the "Crazy Fish"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Florida Fish Camp and Seaforr Shack

Old Florida Fish Camp and Seaforr Shack
2510 2nd Ave North, Jacksonville, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #367 of 1,739 restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice upgrade of the "Crazy Fish"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Same owner (Josh), same great waterfront location, but a much nicer atmosphere, service approach and a richer menu. A neighbor mentioned it to me, and since I hadn't heard of it, he described the location. I realized that it was in the same location once occupied by "Crazy Fish" but I knew my neighbor was not the fish camp type. Lunch today at the new bar was excellent and the place is much more enjoyable with table service instead of an order at the counter approach. They had grilled and blackened fresh fish choices not just fried. The salad and two side items that came with the fish plate were both nicely prepared and presented.

I recommend it highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    9
    12
    1
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Old Florida is the real Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

There's nothing like enjoying fresh seafood on the Florida inter-coastal while listening to tropical music. Old Florida offers this and more.
Besides the wonderful seafood, the salads were fresh and inviting. Enjoy dining inside in air conditioning or outside on the deck. Although it is family friendly, it would be a great place for a party or function, too.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the 'new' Old Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Awesome revamp of a classic fish camp/seafood shack. Modern, chic, decor accents the amazin water views. A really cool separate party space for us large groups to enjoy lunch and cocktails before going out on one of the boats. Just great! Agree with Dave give it another go..it is awesome!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rebranded Old Florida hits the mark!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Love to eat fresh oysters with my wife while watching the boats on the intracoastal from the deck at Old Florida. Interior redo and menu changes make this the perfect casual seafood destination. Great wine list "upgraded" and nicely priced fresh seafood items. Appreciated the homemade cornbread as a no cost appetizer. Try the crab corn chowder to start and move on go fresh fish prepared three different ways. Time to give this restaurant another try. You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great local spot right on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner at the bar on a Friday night and the blackened fish was great along with friendly service. We came back the very next day with our kids and another family. We sat on the deck and enjoyed a great view of the marina and a wonderful lunch. Great local place for food and drinks, we will be regulars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Florida Fish Camp and Seaforr Shack also viewed

 

Been to Old Florida Fish Camp and Seaforr Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Florida Fish Camp and Seaforr Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.