We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bakery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewood Bakery

Edgewood Bakery
1012 S. Edgewood Ave., Jacksonville, FL 32205
+1 904-389-8054
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #762 of 1,774 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Danish, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Edgewood Bakery has been "Baking the Best in Jacksonville since 194." Located in the Murray Hill area of Jacksonville, the bakery services most of Northeast Florida and Southeast Georgia. This Jacksonville institution also offers a wide variety of traditional pastries, breakfast and lunch in the cafe, on-site and off-site catering, and custom cakes for all celebrations.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I've ordered a birthday cake and have stopped in for a cake... both were amazing! The doughnuts are very good and a couple other items- my daughter got a mini pie that was really good.
Only thing we haven't liked is their coffee products- just not their thing I guess

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Everything was old and tasteless. And the prices were outrageous! My husband called to tell them of our concerns and we never heard back from the manager like they said they would do. (That's when I decided to let other people know too choose another place!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewoodBakery, Front Office Manager at Edgewood Bakery, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Kathy,

On behalf of everyone associated with Edgewood Bakery, I am sincerely sorry you were not pleased with your visit. It is our goal to always provide the highest quality product as well as exceptional service to every single customer who walks through our doors. Please know that we take our customers' concerns very seriously; in fact, we have recently addressed this issue with the entire staff.

Again, I apologize. While we do understand if you choose to support other bakeries, we hope you will, at some point, give us the opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing atmosphere, service & food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Love this bakery. The staff are always helpful & patient! The deserts are so yummy, I can never choose just one. The lunch menu is great also, love the fresh homemade chips!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious Donuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Edgewood Bakery has some of Jacksonville's best donuts. My personal favorite are the Homer Donuts. Which are a good size and very sweet. They are the perfect occasional treat. If they have the maple Homer Donut (seasonal) you should definitely try it.

Only advice is to bring cash. They take cards but put a minimum spending amount.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdgewoodBakery, Front Office Manager at Edgewood Bakery, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Crystal,

I'm so sorry about the confusion, but we do not require any amount for a credit card purchase. Even if you buy a $.75 donut, we will ring it on your card if you prefer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“An adorable bakery for sweet toothed people of all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at the Edgewood Bakery with our kids for breakfast. I could not believe the variety of baked goods they offered! I felt fatter (and happier) just looking at the display case full of whimsical treats.

The breakfast was filling and came in large portions. Our server was great. We really enjoyed the atmosphere. I will definitely take house guests here.

I can't wait to go back and try a cookie or donut!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgewood Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Edgewood Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewood Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.