We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park

Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park
500 Wonderwood Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32233
904 249 4700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 169 things to do in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Its not nearly as nice as it is in this picture. Like all beaches in Jacksonville, the water is brown and some parts of the park are kind of trashy. It depends if the Sunday baptist crowd has arrived.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    65
    15
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is by far the best place to go to the beach in Jacksonville it's 3 .00 per car and plenty of parking. The beach is beautiful and the trails and picnic table along a freshwater lake are so awesome and cool.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Full of seashells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a fun park that has a lake and beach access. We went for only the beach. Coming from California, this beach was unique in that it was full of seashells. This was bad when you are playing in the water. You can get scraped easily. But the beach was clean, not overly crowded when we went this saturday around 3pm. There was lifeguard on duty which is great. It was interesting to see protected sea turtle nest areas. We also saw a large cargo ship sail past us. The water was clean and didn't have any algae. If you are just visiting the beach, I recommend going a little south bordering Neptune beach. There the sand is white/grayish. No seashells and hard thus good for running and chilling.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great family beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Visited this park recently after moving to Jacksonville from the Northeast. Couldn't believe how cheap it was to get in ($3). The park is nicely set up; the beach parking areas each have bathroom facilities and a short walk through the dunes to the beach. No big crowds, we had a lot of space on the beach to ourselves. We parked at Dolphin and were surprised to find a rental hall too. The waves were strong and you could watch the ships going in and out of the port north of the beach. Really nice place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sav
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Camping with a lot of room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very peaceful and nice place to camp. We were in a 42' rv and had enough room for 2 more on our site. The beach was nice and peaceful and within walking distance. It was not crowded and also allowed pets. Very shaded and quiet.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park also viewed

 

Been to Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.