We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday Night just Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poms Signature Restaurant

Poms Signature Restaurant
9822 Tapestry Park Circle Suite 107, Jacksonville, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Poms Signature Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 1,739 restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Saturday Night just Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband & I happened to be in the area on a Saturday night with no pre-made dinner plans and thought about stopping here as we had been wanting to try it. I was apprehensive figuring we would never get in without a reservation on a Saturday night but we lucked out. The interior is beautiful and the service was cordial and friendly. We totally enjoyed the wine we selected and all the dishes we tried. There were several I was interested in which made it hard to decide so we agreed we'd have to go back & tour the menu further. I can see where it might get a little claustrophobic when full but we were comfortable. A little on the pricey side, perhaps but wonderfully executed and unique selections (as compared to other dining options in that area)! It turned into a great date night!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    18
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nothing really special except the comfy chairs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

It was just ok ... Service was good and the chairs were cozy ...
I was expecting more .... Me and my mother were very uncomfortable .... All the people seated by us were staring at us every 5 min.... Like they had never seen a black family come in this restaurant prior to us . The tables for 2 were way too small and we could hear the private conversation next to us due to the close proximity . We had 2 appetizers ... 2 entrees ... Salad.... Dessert ... Coffee... Water ..but nothing stood out as amazing or great . I'm a foodie... Travel to NYC frequently for the food and shopping so I'm keen to a quality cuisine . Atmosphere is everything and it felt like i was in an old gentlemen's club with food that was prepared by their mom or wife . Would I go again ..... Nah ... I will stick to black sheep in riverside ...but i do recommend it to those whom are not foodies .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great addition to the Jax dining scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Tired of the same old steak house or fish place? Try Poms. Cozy little place with really good and interesting French-Asian cuisine.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Dining here makes it a "Special Event"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We knew we'd return long before we finished, and walked out with that "Special Feeling".
The location is very upscale. Parking is scarce. The restaurant is small and you could miss it if you weren't looking. Once inside, everything is warm, tasteful, understated luxury. The atmosphere is very conducive to fine dining. Tables are far enough apart to enjoy private conversations. Service was impeccable from the time we entered. The server was knowledgeable, readily available when needed, and otherwise invisible. His suggestion to order the raspberry souffle early was most welcome. There was never any pressure to "turn the table".
The menu was mouth watering. There is a definite Asian influence to American choices with pineapple, cocoanut, and curry flavors, but not the extra hot Thai spices. My wife had the Roasted Pekin Duck...perfectly done, crispy skin, and excellent baby carrots and brussle sprouts. My Grilled Mayport Tiger Prawns were also perfectly prepared, not overdone, and served on a grilled fresh pineapple. The stir fried rice was even better with langusta and curry added to the usual ingredients. The souffle was another hit...light and fluffy with a rasberry sauce and fresh blackberries. Portions were ample but not huge. Fine dining isn't about doggy bags.
The wine list is not extensive, but had good choices in varied price ranges. I couldn't view the wine list online, so we brought a bottle from our celler. Corkage is $25, another plus if you have a good wine collection.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Love this little place. Its small, but everything is delicious. We stayed at indigo hotel and went there few times. Chef pom is a great chef. The wine guy Manny was awesome. Great job. We'll be back

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poms Signature Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poms Signature Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poms Signature Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.