We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many big cats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary

Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary
1860 Starratt Road, Jacksonville, FL 32226
904-757-3603
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 70 Attractions in Jacksonville
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Our mission is to provide a safe, loving, forever home for endangered big cats, and to educate the public about their plight in the wild and captivity. We do not breed, sell, or trade any of our animals. Our current residents include tigers, lions, cougars, leopards, bobcats, foxes, and coatimundis (the last two are “honorary cats”). We are only open on select days.
Watertown, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Many big cats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A guided tour of caged animals. Not too bad, really did not need a guided tour. It was very hot and the animals were mostly sleeping way away from were you could see them. But they are well kept

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    58
    16
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Activity for the Family. Wear Boots!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Brought some out of town family members here during a Holiday weekend. We thought it would be great for the kids, but the parents LOVED it too! Lions, tigers, jaguars and other exotic animals are so close you can hear them breathe. Unlike zoos these animals are very active, running through their cages and putting on quite a show. The animals seem to be very well taken care of and have large pens with activities in each pen. Friday and Saturday nights one can watch them be fed - WOW. Wear boots because the ground is muddy with the littlest bit of rain.
A great activity in Jacksonville!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I'm sure to visit again and again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I had the opportunity to visit Catty Shack ranch twice for an evening feeding; this includes attending a child's birthday party with approximately 40 attendees. At the party I observed that each individual was amazed at these beautiful animals. The tour guide, Anne, was a volunteer who, like the other volunteers, dedicates much time and energy here. She was very knowledgeable about the history and care of each of the residents at the ranch. By the end of the night we all developed a respect and admiration for these large cats. I recommend Catty Shack Ranch to people of all ages; especially animal lovers. This is a great place for a field trip or an interesting night out.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“up close and personal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This sanctuary allows you the opportunity to experience the behaviors of wild cats up close. These animals have come to Catty Shack under unfortunate circumstances, but they seem well cared for and loved by their handlers. We went for a night feeding, which we had heard great stories about. Make sure to take your bug spray, as we were attacked by horse flies, and enjoy the sounds of the night! The feeding began at 7:30, but we got there around 6:00 for the first tour of the night. The tour guide was very informative and knew a lot about the individual cats that were at the Catty Shack. It was wonderful watching the juvenile tigers playing, listening to the lions roaring, and experiencing the feeding process.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The animals are so close to you and you can really feel like you are apart of their habitat. Very clean, employees friendly. A great place to visit, plan to go again soon

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.