We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up close and personal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary

Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary
1860 Starratt Road, Jacksonville, FL 32226
904-757-3603
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 147 things to do in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Our mission is to provide a safe, loving, forever home for endangered big cats, and to educate the public about their plight in the wild and captivity. We do not breed, sell, or trade any of our animals. Our current residents include tigers, lions, cougars, leopards, bobcats, foxes, and coatimundis (the last two are “honorary cats”). We are only open on select days.
1 review
“Up close and personal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Get up close and personal with the beautiful cats as you tour this amazing attraction. The night feeding is an extraordinary experience.

Helpful?
Thank Bridgewalker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I Definitely Recommend It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The animals are very well cared for, and the staff is extremely friendly and knowledgable. I went to the night feeding and it was amazing at how up close and personal the interactions with the animals.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place was awesome. You were able to get so close to the animals and it was wonderful to hear all of their stories. What they're doing at the Catty Shack Ranch is so great for wildlife. I took my boyfriend here for his birthday because he's studying wildlife at UF and we couldn't have had a better night. The price is totally worth what you get - it's $15 a person and you get to see and learn so much about the animals. The feeding was pretty cool, we stood right next to where the big lion was being fed and he definitely put on a show.

We will definitely be going back again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bbassler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I only wish they had an annual pass...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

There's a reason this place is number 1 in Jacksonville. It's amazing. I never get tired of hearing the stories of the animals that these folks rescued, or of seeing how well they are doing. These are some happy cats (and other misc. creatures). A great time for the family, for sure. Make sure to catch one of the feedings!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SquirrelyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennadelane, Volunteer at Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Wish granted (kind of)!! We are about to start offering a pre-paid card that is good for either 12 visits at $135 or 6 visits at $70, thats a $45 and $20 savings respectively! Stay tuned to our website for more details about this card!

Also, thanks so much for visiting, we're so glad you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVED. IT WAS GREAT. ANIMALS. BEAUTIFUL TOUR GREAT. 5 STARS AND MORE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I went to the night time feeding all the cats were up and our healthy. They were very active. They were playful close to the fence you could see them. The tour guy was very good had all the abases to any. ? That were asked. The owner son was there and was playing with King Fred the main lion. You can see that all the animals. Are taken care tlc. Feeding time was great you heard them roar! We will be back for day time tour. It something you need to see young or old.

Helpful?
2 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing