We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary

Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary
1860 Starratt Road, Jacksonville, FL 32226
904-757-3603
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 70 Attractions in Jacksonville
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Our mission is to provide a safe, loving, forever home for endangered big cats, and to educate the public about their plight in the wild and captivity. We do not breed, sell, or trade any of our animals. Our current residents include tigers, lions, cougars, leopards, bobcats, foxes, and coatimundis (the last two are “honorary cats”). We are only open on select days.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We made the drive up to Jacksonville from Daytona to take in one of the additional tour dates added over the holidays. Even after the early morning rain the tour was a pleasurable experience. The services the sanctuary offers is truly special. Listening to the lions talk between the two areas was a memorable moment. Watching the year old tiger cubs size up my three year old informed me of the importance of the job that the snctuary does because these are not your average house cat. The tour was informative and people care. The cats are well cared for and healthy. It was a memorable part of our trip and I only wish we would have been able to be in the area to take in a night feeding.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    58
    16
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We attended an evening event...took the tour and stayed for the nighttime feeding. Our tour guide, Kym, was wonderful - very knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions. The feeding was a great experience. The cats were all out, active and quite vocal. If you are at all interested in wildlife, big cats in particular, this is definitely an experience worth having!! Catty Shack Ranch, you rock!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennadelane, Volunteer at Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting and for taking the time to review us here! Night feedings are definitely a lot of fun and we are glad that you enjoyed your tour (Kym is great and she'll be thrilled you had a good time!)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So cool to see the big Cats at feeding time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were so impressed seeing the Big Cats fed. The keepers were very knowledgeable and showed us all how these majestic and wild animals behave. A must see!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful organization.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent the afternoon at Catty Shack for one of their day time events. We were pleasantly surprised with the organization, tour and the knowledge of the volunteer staff. Everyone there was pleasantly and you could tell that they truely loved what they were doing. The cats were mostly sleeping but who doesnt want to sleep on a cloudy rainy day. Even with the cats lazy day I was able to get some awsome pictures. I plan to return for one of the night time feedings, they should be very interesting. I would recommend this attraction for everyone.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best ever you can do!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

For us it was the best experience we ever made. The staff is amazing and they are doing a great job. It was amazing to be able to watch the 'cats' so close and to know that they are getting help and love!!! Thank you for this wonderful and amazing evening!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.