We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our group of five liked it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Potro Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Potro Mexican Restaurant
7200 Normandy Blvd, Suite 12, Jacksonville, FL 32246-3897
(904) 378-9822
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,080 of 1,774 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Coppell, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Our group of five liked it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

There were five of us for dinner one evening in early February and we liked the atmosphere and courteous service. One in our group ate from the buffet bar and the rest of us ordered from the menu. I'm writing this review one month after having eaten here so I can't recall details except that the buffet eater was pleased and so were the rest of us. Tamales were good, and so were the casseroles like enchiladas. Most of us ate dessert as well which was also worth a try. The detail I can recall is that restaurant's interior is spacious enough such that if it had been full of patrons we still would not have felt crowded because the tables are spaced adequately from one another. Sorry for the lack of details, but if the food had been above average I would remember it more vividly than I seem able to remember now. But I should also say that we ate here twice, not just once, and we enjoyed it well enough.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Good buffet's for lunch...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we went some time ago for lunch. the food was good, the selection average. But the deal was excellent and the service very good. I would suggest it if you are looking for a good value and good Mexican food.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We've tried this place three times but each time it seemed to get a little worse. The food could only be described as low average, waiters were not attentive and prices weren't that cheap. There are much better mexican restaurants in Jax

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“EL Potro / Blanding Blvd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

good service, reasonable drinks, inexpensive buffet ..... didn,t expext live music (great guitarist on Friday nights)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Good Fajitas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Service was quick and the food arrived hot. The chips and salsa was good. The chicken fajitas were really good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Potro Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Potro Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Potro Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.