We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to Cali!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tequila's Mexican Restaurant

Tequila's Mexican Restaurant
10915 Baymeadows Rd. Suite 101, Jacksonville, FL 32256
904.363.1365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 1,774 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Back to Cali!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I'm a (not so) recent transplant here in Jax from LA and seriously miss good old fashioned "cali style" mexican cooking. La Nopaler which is popular here in Jax is no substitute. I finally found a restaurant worthy of my Cali taste buds. If you want good food at great prices with excellent customer service, go to Tequila's! I want this restaurant to get so busy that they won't shut their doors. I recommend the chile relleno, it's better than my favorite in LA. I've tried several dishes and can vouch for the following. Mexican tacos, carnitas, carne asada, taquitos, shrimp enchiladas! I've as yet had to order a dish that I did not like. Enjoy and I hope we can keep this restaurant in business for a long, long time or until I can get back to LA.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Polk City, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wow - Another Really Great Restaurant in Jacksonville Florida!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Okay, last month we took Trip Advisor's advice and visited Tacolu Mexican Restaurant in Jacksonville, FL and it was delish. This month for our visit to Jacksonville, FL we took Trip Advisor's advice and visited Tequila's Mexican s Restaurant....this is a tough one....Tequila's is excellent too! My husband and I had major important discussion about which one is better and we CAN NOT decide....both are excellent! We both agree the flavor at both restaurants is wonderful BUT....the portion size at Tequila's is MUCH better than Tacolu's. My husband barely got full for dinner at Tacolu's and I barely was full. The size portions at Tequilla's was huge AND delish. Tequila's was clean, pleasant and efficient service, smelled as good as the food tasted. Nice drink specials at Tequilla's too, ,much better drink prices than Tacolu's. ***My steak fajita was so good probably one of the best fajita I've ever had! So, all in all...we will definitely be back to Tequilla's....delish food, good portion sizes, very reasonably priced dinners AND good drink prices....what is not to love??? Stop by and enjoy for yourself!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Mexican Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently had a late lunch at Tequila's Mexican Restaurant and was pleasantly surprised to find a jewel. The employees were friendly and eager to please especially when I asked for the "really hot salsa they keep in the back". The food was amazing, the decor placed you back in a little cantina huddled among the shade trees; delightful mexican music played in the background while we feasted on terrific enchilladas, burritos and a fabulous chili relanos. We definitely will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top-notch Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We live nearby and are thankful for it! Even though we arrived about an hour before closing on a Sunday, we received courteous and prompt service. Their salsa and chips were a tasty start. My fiancee ordered the vegetable burrito while I went with fish tacos (we are on a wedding diet, after all). The fish tacos were pretty good, but that vegetable burrito is what I'll be ordering on my next visit!

I'm confident that Tequila's will be our favored Mexican restaurant!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Chile Rellenos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I am really picky about chile rellenos and often skeptical about ordering them, but this neighborhood Mexican restaurant delivers! Great prices - my husband enjoys the beef fajitas almost every time we go. Not as crazy about the margaritas - but they do have a good sangria!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tequila's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tequila's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tequila's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.