We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made me homesick.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q
12620 Bartram Park Blvd, Jacksonville, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #569 of 1,678 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Petaluma, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Made me homesick.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love Bono's BBQ always have. My boyfriend's first time there and he was amazed at the quantity of the food for the price. Friendly Southern Staff and great food

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It is no wonder they have been a success since 1949”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This is the greatest barbecue ever .
So tender . The sauces are great .
Best ever ! We bought by the pound for a party was a huge hit :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just like the old days when it was at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very good food very good service the location used to be over on the beach years ago and never seemed to be as good, however that has certainly changed yummy!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy! Great service! Enjoyed my turkey bbq!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

There side dishes are great. The green beans were like home made with bacon. We were seated quickly. Our server was very nice. He didn't mind splitting our checks up because we had to have seperate receipts for work. The turkey was moist and smokey. There were lots of different sauces to try to suit all our tastes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No More Bono's For Us”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I recently moved to the Bartram Springs area and were thrilled when we realized Bono's, one of our favorites, was very close by.
Our first meal was okay. We were accustomed to the great service and atmosphere at the Merrill Rd location so this mediocre meal was kind of disappointing.
We went a few more times, but this last time was it for us.
We went for an early dinner. There were maybe two other tables, but for the most part we had the restaurant to ourselves. Our server was attentive, and the food came out quickly. The meal was very good. Everything was prepared correctly, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our enjoyment stopped when the check came. We were overcharged, by quite a bit, so my husband kindly pointed it out. No big deal, we weren't upset in the slightest as we all make mistakes. Unfortunately, the server immediately became argumentative and had a massive attitude. We went over what we had ordered again, and he grabbed the receipt and marched off. A while later he came back and angrily slammed the corrected receipt down on the table. We were flabbergasted. We paid for our meal, left him a tip despite his nasty attitude, and walked out.
The following morning my husband called the restaurant and asked to speak to the manager. He was told the manager wasn't there, and was getting the run around and finally just asked when the manager would be coming in. He was told to "Have a nice day" and promptly hung up on. He called back a few minutes later, and a different employee answered the phone. He again asked to speak to the manager, and she informed him she was. This was obviously a bit odd being that he was just told the manager wasn't in. He relayed all that as well as the previous days experience to the "manager" and she immediately defended the server. No apology was given, she just copped a serious attitude. He let her know he would be calling corporate to file a complaint, and she told him go right ahead because there's nothing they can do about it.
We did call corporate, and did try to file a complaint. We were told someone would be calling us back. We never received any call back. We tried again, and again received no communication.
We've eaten at Bono's for years. My husband even worked for them for a long time. It's unfortunate that this kind of service is not dealt with, and that the unprofessionalism extends even into corporate. We will no longer support this chain.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bono's Pit Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.