We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of First Watch

First Watch
11111-14 San Jose Blvd., Jacksonville, FL 32223
904-268-8331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #231 of 1,678 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: First Watch specializes in delicious creations freshly-prepared to order. Their fresh, award-winning Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch dishes are made using only the best ingredients without the use of heat lamps or deep fryers. The best part is their creative menu features traditional favorites like omelets, pancakes, salads and sandwiches.
florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

For breakfast, maybe just a touch better than Village Inn, but not as good as Village Bread and nowhere near Metro Diner. Adequate if you are nearby, but nothing to go out of your way for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

we eat here quite often, and always enjoy it. get there early to avoid a long wait for a table or booth. Service is average but servers are very pleasent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Creative menu, quality food, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We have been "regulars" at the San Jose location of First Watch. The menu offers many excellent choices, particularly at breakfast; fresh and healthy abounds. Often crowded but we have always felt it was worth the wait. Our last few visits however suggest that First Watch is no longer up to its usual high standards - less than pleasant wait staff and worse - food that is not hot - nothing worse than cold eggs and toast! Unfortunately grumpy wait staff and cold food has been our experience for the last three or four visits. I hope they can turn things around but we will stay away for a while until things improve - which we hope the do.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This review is about the location on Beach Blvd that just opened a few weeks ago. I went there with a friend on a Saturday morning at 8:30, and we were seated right away. The waitress was very attentive and helpful with recommendations. I had the fruit crepes -- the fruit was very fresh, and it came with yummy granola and a very good banana nut muffin! My friend had one of the egg scrambles that came with herbed goat cheese - also very good! The selection seemed fresh and healthy, but the portions definitely weren't too small! The entrees were about $10 each, which I'd say is reasonable. We were in a booth in the corner, and even when the restaurant got crowded, it still wasn't too loud for a conversation.

I'd certainly recommend this for a good breakfast / brunch (haven't had lunch there yet so I can't rate that), although when we were leaving around 10, it looked like the line was getting very long. Arrive early!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is always an easy stop for breakfast. I like that they have many healthy options. My only complaint is the decor, kind of like a cafeteria.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Watch also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to First Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Watch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.