We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Baymeadows

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Baymeadows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8277 Western Way Circle, Jacksonville, FL 32256 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #73 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I were on the way from NC to Daytona. We were tired just outside of Jacksonville, so we called Choice Hotels for a place to stay off of 95 in Jacksonville. They reserved us a king suite at Comfort Suites Baymeadows. The rate was cheap, under $100 a night, with another 10% for AAA. This on a Friday at the beginning of spring break week. The room was large and clean, nicely furnished and decorated. The living area/small kitchenette/bathroom were at the front of the room. The bed was on the other side of a dividing wall. This meant you could leave on the bathroom light without disturbing your sleep. There were plenty of receptacles for cell phones, computers, and other electronics. The kitchenette included a minifridge, sink, and microwave. The bed was a King and super comfortable, and they provided a ton of soft cushy pillows. The complimentary breakfast bar in the lobby had plenty of variety for a continental, and you could even have eggs. Location wise, it was good. All the amenities of town were close, traffic wasn't bad either. The only minor gripe I have is the internet connection - it was not very fast. Should be sufficient for email, not so much for streaming video and such.

Room Tip: King suite was only a little more than regular, but the bed size and room layout is definitely worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
22
22
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a total of 9 rooms booked here for a baseball tournament. The hotel is very old with nothing updated. Wallpaper peeling off the walls, roof leaking water in the lobby, the beds were terrible, wi-fi didn't work 90% of the time just to name a few. The worst part was the front desk clerk, Travis. He was rude and very unprofessional. I will be contacting the general manager more about him. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were given the impression this facility catered to business travelers and therefore chose it over others since we had to make some internet contacts for scheduling arrival times. However their internet was not available during the evening of the check-in nor the following morning. Hotel staff couldn't even access it. Another person had to find a Starbucks in order to submit a required report to his home office. "I'll tell the manager when he comes in" was what I was told twice. Breakfast was a disaster. They ran out of sausage and eggs before the end of the breakfast period. They even ran out of their bold and regular coffee. Decaf was the only one available. The lady "servicing" the area was most unfriendly. The fitness center was closed due to remodeling and not available. One person at breakfast was complaining the restroom was even out of tissue.

The room was comfortable, but the elevator was as slow as molasses. The lights indicating the floor on one of the two elevators did not work.

I normally do not give negative reviews, but this one rubbed me the wrong way. Especially when the desk people could not do more than say "I'm sorry" nor make any token price adjustment.

Room Tip: Find another hotel to stay at
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuvergee, Owner at Comfort Suites Baymeadows, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review on TripAdvisor. I have taken note of all issues and will be addressing them accordingly. We strive for perfection at our property and I am personally upset that you did not receive excellent service while visiting. If you are ever in the Jacksonville, FL area please contact me directly, I hope to compensate you in some way if possible.

Thank You,

Jitan Kuverji
Owner
csbaymeadows@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We like this hotel a lot! The staff is super nice, rooms are excellent very spacious, a lot variety of channels, breakfast was good, lots of parking spaces, this place was really nice! home away from home.... I will recommend this place

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location for my business needs. Staff was very pleasant and professional, room was clean and quite. I had to check out before my scheduled time and the front desk allowed me a very late check out without charging. Bravo. Breakfast was marginal but there was fresh coffee and a good choice of items.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The first room I was given smelled as if someone had become sick and it wasn't properly cleaned. The second room gave me a choice of not sleeping well due to either it being hot and stuffy, or turning on the HVAC and listening to the rattling fan and when the AC compressor kicked in it was like being on a factory floor next to a machine. The unit was so old the vents were dented in and the knobs were missing from the controls. There was a table with AC power and a USB connection for the laptop, but the chair was missing. After I complained in the morning, a new HVAC unit was installed and a chair was delivered. Apparently their maintenance program is it let things go until a customer complains. These were not situations where something broke unexpectedly, but were things the staff should have been aware of if they bothered to properly check the rooms, and report problems. In addition, the alarm clock didn't work, but I didn't want to press my luck in getting that taken care of also. The only reason I stayed the three nights I had planned is because I had made a non-refundable reservation thru Choice Rewards. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is my second review, at two different Comfort Suites in Jacksonville Florida. Both of these properties are in need of remodeling & repair.

As I checked in the Front Desk clerk explained that the hotel is an older hotel. That is not a normal statement when checking into a hotel. The rooms are clean, but the furniture is old & stained.
AC/heating unit is loud & when you look in the vents you can see the mold in the unit. The bathroom door looks that maybe it has never been cleaned. The towels were stained & thin.

Comfort Suites (Choice Hotels International) needs to evaluate the quality of the properties in the Jacksonville area. I stay with this chain often.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuvergee, Owner at Comfort Suites Baymeadows, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to inform you and the rest of the potential customers reading your review that our hotel is currently working with Choice Hotels International on a Property Improvement Plan which we plan to implement over the next couple of months. I appreciate your remarks and hope to see you back some time soon.

Thank you.

Jitan Kuverji
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Baymeadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Baymeadows

Address: 8277 Western Way Circle, Jacksonville, FL 32256 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Baymeadows 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Suites Baymeadows, a Jacksonville hotel near Downtown Jacksonville and Jacksonville beachesConveniently located close to Jacksonville's businesses, the entertainment district and Jacksonville beaches, the Comfort Suites® Baymeadows is ideal for everyone. This Jacksonville, FL hotel provides easy access to Downtown Jacksonville, the Museum of Science and History, Times-Union Center for the Performing Arts and Jacksonville Municipal Stadium, home of the Jacksonville Jaguars. The Southpoint/JTB and Baymeadows Corporate Centers are close to this Florida hotel. The Mayo Clinic and Baptist Medical South are located less than eight miles away.The University of North Florida, Jacksonville University and Florida State College at Jacksonville South Campus are less than 10 miles away. The Avenues mall and St. John's Town Center, which features more than 150 shops and services, are just three miles from the hotel. Several golf courses and historic St. Augustine are only 15 minutes away.Located on the banks of the St. John's River, Jacksonville Landing is home to a variety of unique shops, fine dining, trendy bars and nightclubs buzzing with excitement. Several restaurants and lounges are within walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Baymeadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Baymeadows Hotel Jacksonville
Comfort Suites Jacksonville
Jacksonville Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Baymeadows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.