We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here many times when new” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11262 Old St Augustine Road, Jacksonville, FL 32257   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #42 of 131 hotels in Jacksonville
gainesville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stayed here many times when new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I never had a problem as described by other people. I especially liked the non-smoking no pet rule. It changed names and I did not stay during that time, but if it is back to a HI Express and as good as before I will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms near interstate ramp has road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Great to hear you are once again a happy guests. We are practically a brand new property. And we are happy to learn you enjoyed your recent stay. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
18
11
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Top Contributor
610 reviews 610 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just left this place, after staying a few days for a speech and debate tournament a few minutes away. I know this hotel has gone through some renovation for awhile, because we tried to stay at this place a month ago, but they were closed for construction. Now since they reopened this pace, I feel the freshness of this place. Nice lobby, great breakfast area, and wonderful staff. Our stay was great. We arrived at 1:00am Wednesday morning, and were greeted by a very nice man working his shift at the front desk. He even asked us how our trip to Jacksonville was, a course we said it was great, but I don't remember a front desk guy asking us that. I found it to be very nice. Our room was clean, beds were comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast like always. The breakfast women were nice and did a great job keeping the breakfast area stocked with food.

It's very hard to find a negative about this place, but probably the only negative part about this place, is probably the location. The location is great, right next to the on-ramp that leads onto Interstate 295, but we found it difficult to get into the parking lot. You have to turn at the McDonalds, and go through a shopping center to get to this hotel. That's the only negative about this place. Our room didn't face I-295, but there wasn't a lot of cars on it at night, and it doesn't sit directly next to the interstate, so road noise shouldn't be a problem. Overall, our stay was great. The location, won't keep us away from this place, because we loved this place, and if we have anymore tournaments nearby, than this Holiday Inn Express will be our place to stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Finally I want to say great job to the general manager and the hotel staff who make this hotel wonderful. Great job everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
So glad to know you enjoyed your stay. The hotel has been completely renovated and for all practical purposes is a new hotel. The shopping center offers many benefits to our guest such as a Publix, Florist, Hair salon, Hobby Lobby, Dollar Tree, Le Grands Steak & Seafood Restaurant, Liquor store and as you stated a McDonalds and Wendys too. All are within walking distance.
Our staff will be happy to hear you noticed there efforts and they had such a positive impact on your stay while here for the tournament. Thanks for sharing your comments and we hope to have you return soon.

Norman LeBert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolesville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

ok place to stay for the price and location the food is typical for this type of hotel, the gym could use some weights, the carpeting is being upgraded, they also need more luggage carts. I had hoped to walk around the hotel corridor but there are no trails or sidewaks. the exit to get here is a little tricky off the main highway 202, if you blink you miss it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hotel closed down after it was sold and totally renovated. Hotel has since reopened and we hope you will return to find the hotel all of what you expect it to be and more.

Thanks and hope to have you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed here before. The hotel has unfortuantely gone down hill. The breakfast used to be very good but now is horrible. The breakfast attendant could care less that the food was running out with still one half hour to go before it closed @ 9:30 am. Scrambled eggs were empty. No fresh fruit anymore (apples, bananas, etc..). Yogurt is the cheap kind now. The food service attendant saww there was no food available but did not care, instead wnet into the kitchen and cooked herself some breakfast and went into the front office and ate there with the front desk personnel.

The Business Center was equally bad. The printer was out of black ink and no replacement was available.

Many better hotels in Jacksonville to choose from.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want great service and good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hotel had closed down after being sold and was totally renovated. I am certain you would be happy with the changes that have been made. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed a LOTS of Holiday Inn Express rooms over the past year. This one was just like all the rest with premium fixtures, a little larger room, and a super nice spacious lobby. Very pleasant, professional staff also add to the stay. The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of the usual 5 was the shower curtain rod was coming loose at one end and there was a little paint coming off over the tub.

I always read Tripadvisor before making a reservation and was shocked to see the negative comments. All I can say is there's too many (7) to ignore and maybe they had a management problem that's been addressed. But for certain as of October 2012 this was just another well above average stay in a premium hotel well worth the few extra $.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Glad to see you enjoyed your stay and know you would be even more impressed today. The hotel was closed down early this year and went through a total renovation. I know you would love the new hotel. We just had our Grand Opening June 19th. Hope to have you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stay 10 days and this hotel its small but very clean and the people that worked on it was treated me super.... The beakfast was included and its very good, the pool its very clean. My wife is a Asthmatic patient and all the 10 days does not need her medication because the rooms was extra clean. The accesibility of the hotel to all the shopping center is awsome, 20 minutes near the airport and San Agustin town.

Room Tip: All the room was good, but I stayed on a mini suite and was a pleasure room with all rpthe commoditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff and a clean comfortable room.
If you are on the south side of Jacksonville and need a room do yourself a favor and stop here.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any bad rooms in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295

Address: 11262 Old St Augustine Road, Jacksonville, FL 32257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Holiday Inn Express and Suites Jacksonville South I-295 Hotel in residential Mandarin near St. John's river is a refreshing stop on your trip through northern Florida. Located just south of downtown Jacksonville and near Naval Air Station Jacksonville and Historic St. Augustine. Cheer for the Jacksonville Jaguars at EverBank Field just 15 minutes away from the hotel, also the home to the “Nations largest cocktail party” Florida – Georgia rival football classic and the Gator Bowl. Play Golf like the pros at the home of the players championship TPC Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra Beach which is also located 15 minutes away. Other area attractions located within a short drive of the hotel include Jacksonville Beach, St. Augustine Beach, Jacksonville Zoo and Museum of Science and History. If shopping is your passion, the hotel is conveniently located near North Florida's premiere shopping areas includingThe Landing, St. Johns Town Center and the Avenues. Jacksonville is home to North Florida's largest corporations and are all within a short 15 minute drive. Companies include Bank of America, EverBank, CSX, Northrup Grumman, Baptist Hospital and Mayo Clinic. Our stylish and contemporary rooms include free high speed wireless internet, 32in HDTV's, coffee makers, and spacious work area. Enjoy our delicious complimentary hot breakfast bar, 24 hour fitness and business center and refreshing outdoor pool await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville
Holiday Inn Jacksonville
Jacksonville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.