We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed name to Mandarin Inn recently - very poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11262 Old St Augustine Road, Jacksonville, FL 32257   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 131 Hotels in Jacksonville
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Changed name to Mandarin Inn recently - very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed here before. The hotel has unfortuantely gone down hill. The breakfast used to be very good but now is horrible. The breakfast attendant could care less that the food was running out with still one half hour to go before it closed @ 9:30 am. Scrambled eggs were empty. No fresh fruit anymore (apples, bananas, etc..). Yogurt is the cheap kind now. The food service attendant saww there was no food available but did not care, instead wnet into the kitchen and cooked herself some breakfast and went into the front office and ate there with the front desk personnel.

The Business Center was equally bad. The printer was out of black ink and no replacement was available.

Many better hotels in Jacksonville to choose from.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want great service and good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hotel had closed down after being sold and was totally renovated. I am certain you would be happy with the changes that have been made. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
19
11
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed a LOTS of Holiday Inn Express rooms over the past year. This one was just like all the rest with premium fixtures, a little larger room, and a super nice spacious lobby. Very pleasant, professional staff also add to the stay. The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of the usual 5 was the shower curtain rod was coming loose at one end and there was a little paint coming off over the tub.

I always read Tripadvisor before making a reservation and was shocked to see the negative comments. All I can say is there's too many (7) to ignore and maybe they had a management problem that's been addressed. But for certain as of October 2012 this was just another well above average stay in a premium hotel well worth the few extra $.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Glad to see you enjoyed your stay and know you would be even more impressed today. The hotel was closed down early this year and went through a total renovation. I know you would love the new hotel. We just had our Grand Opening June 19th. Hope to have you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stay 10 days and this hotel its small but very clean and the people that worked on it was treated me super.... The beakfast was included and its very good, the pool its very clean. My wife is a Asthmatic patient and all the 10 days does not need her medication because the rooms was extra clean. The accesibility of the hotel to all the shopping center is awsome, 20 minutes near the airport and San Agustin town.

Room Tip: All the room was good, but I stayed on a mini suite and was a pleasure room with all rpthe commoditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff and a clean comfortable room.
If you are on the south side of Jacksonville and need a room do yourself a favor and stop here.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any bad rooms in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Excellent service and value for your money along with a great breakfest offering and very pleasent rooms and very clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

we stopped at this hotel to visit with friends and family in Jacksonville. the hotel needed a few fixes. the gentleman at the front desk, Frankie, was very polite and friendly. he provided great service to me and my family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express on Old St Augustine Road is an excellent value. My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel while house hunting. The hotel has easy access to areas of Mandarin and St Johns County. Located directly off of I-295 it is conveniently located to shopping, restaurants, and mins from NAS (during non-rush hour). The staff was friendly; hotel was quiet, safe, and clean. Daily breakfast was included and was typical hotel fare. Free and fast Wi-Fi was included. The hotel wasn't busy so they upgraded us to a larger room with a small refrigerator and microwave at no additional cost. I would definitely stay at their hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295

Address: 11262 Old St Augustine Road, Jacksonville, FL 32257
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Holiday Inn Express and Suites Jacksonville South I-295 Hotel in residential Mandarin near St. John's river is a refreshing stop on your trip through northern Florida. Located just south of downtown Jacksonville and near Naval Air Station Jacksonville and Historic St. Augustine. Cheer for the Jacksonville Jaguars at EverBank Field just 15 minutes away from the hotel, also the home to the “Nations largest cocktail party” Florida – Georgia rival football classic and the Gator Bowl. Play Golf like the pros at the home of the players championship TPC Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra Beach which is also located 15 minutes away. Other area attractions located within a short drive of the hotel include Jacksonville Beach, St. Augustine Beach, Jacksonville Zoo and Museum of Science and History. If shopping is your passion, the hotel is conveniently located near North Florida's premiere shopping areas includingThe Landing, St. Johns Town Center and the Avenues. Jacksonville is home to North Florida's largest corporations and are all within a short 15 minute drive. Companies include Bank of America, EverBank, CSX, Northrup Grumman, Baptist Hospital and Mayo Clinic. Our stylish and contemporary rooms include free high speed wireless internet, 32in HDTV's, coffee makers, and spacious work area. Enjoy our delicious complimentary hot breakfast bar, 24 hour fitness and business center and refreshing outdoor pool await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville
Holiday Inn Jacksonville
Jacksonville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville South I-295, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.