We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Family/Neighborhood Restaurant on Steroids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandaloun

Mandaloun
9862 Old Baymeadows Road, Deerwood Village Shopping Center, Jacksonville, FL 32256
(904) 866-4572
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,775 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Palm Coast, Fl
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Excellent - Family/Neighborhood Restaurant on Steroids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife, daughter, and I just dined at this fine establishment for the second time (for me) and for the second time, I walked out extremely happy we chose to eat there. This is a family / neighborhood restaurant, without the "hole in the wall" feel of that label. It is nicely decorated, the owner/chef is out there talking to his patrons that he seems to know very well, and the food is outstanding. If that is not enough, the prices are extremely reasonable for the quality and quantity served. I highly recommend it

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    8
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Second visit to Mandaloun: 5 star food/ 5 star service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I visited Mandaloun with a friend for dinner about 2 months ago and then again with my husband. Both times it was not crowded and food was delicious. Both times the owner surprised us with a dessert on the house and came out to say hello. Also the waiter ran to get espresso coffee next door just for us, so that we can enjoy our desserts. How kind and accommodating!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Way too much money for the quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We just spent $69 for 4 for lunch! Not any alcohol and one child's meal. This is our third visit and each time, it seems it is way, way too much money for the value. The child had a kid's meal hamburger, we ordered two appetizers, and two entrees, all vegetarian. Yikes! The prices are way, way too much for the money. The food is OK. Probably the best is the Pita with the Olive Oil that is complimentary.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a family owned and run restaurant 2nd to none. The food and service were outstanding with a positive attitude from start to finish. The owner/chef came to table offering advice and information in a warm and friendly way. He returned often to make sure our needs were met, but not in a obtrusive way. The wait staff was also attentive and excellent. The food was excellent and well priced offering a wide selection of Mediterranean dishes. My wife and I had one of our best meals in Jacksonville and will be returning. Note that the restaurant is located deep inside a plaza and can be easily missed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All Around Winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Great chow and fast service. Definitely will return. Chef/owner came out to check on us. Don't let the strip mall location throw you off, this place is a gem. Even had a web coupon!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandaloun also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Mandaloun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandaloun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.