We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sour spuds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo's Southwest Cafe

Buffalo's Southwest Cafe
6055 Youngerman Cir, Jacksonville, FL 32244-6606
904-778-1101
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #652 of 1,678 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“sour spuds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

usually the food is very good.but this time the potatoes had a taint sour taste to it and the chicken was hard.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food on the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Ate here as we stayed down the street on on way from Chicago to south Florida. Chips and salsa were a good app and I had the shrimp wrap (very good) and my wife had chicken fajitas. Margaritas were good too. Server brought the wrong bill and when we went to pay, we told the manager and he reprinted our bill minus a 10% discount. Very nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
1 review
“Very BAD customer service!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I wanted to try a different restaurant so we decided on this one since we had never gone before. When we walked in the hostess was holding a personal conversation with someone and did not acknowledge our presence for at least 1-2 min. She acted as if we were an inconvenience to her conversation rather than customers. We stood there so long we began to think that maybe we were supposed to seat ourselves. When we were finally seated our waitress came to take our drink order. She never greeted us or asked if we wanted an appetizer. She immediately wanted us to order an entree. We had to stop her and ask to order the appetizer. We had to ask another waitress for silverware because our waitress was no where to be found by that time and there was none already on the table. Our waitress never offered any refills, cleared any of the dishes from our appetizer when our entree arrived and the table remained cluttered throughout our meal. After finishing our meal for at least 30 min. we had to ask another waitress to find our waitress so that we could get our check. After waiting another 20 or so min. we had to ask another waitress to find our waitress to pay the check. We had never experienced such horrible customer service from a dine in restaurant. My husband usually tips a bad waitresses at least $5 but she was horrible and we dare not spend one extra cent for bad customer service. I am a real customer and that was our real experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth NS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat within walking distance from our hotel and decided to try this place. Our waiter was really friendly and took real good care of us. The meals were huge portions for the price and excellent to boot. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Food, Staff and Entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

While this is more of a locals establishment all visitors are well taken care of here. For those of you considering a visit, here are some helpful tips.

Food is very good. Lemon Pepper and Red Hot Ranch (Not Very Hot) wings are my faves.
SW egg rolls and all of the burritos are excellent as well as the burgers.

Wednesday is bike night. It is usually very busy with a live band. Great crowd. If you are lucky enough to catch a Wednesday night when the band Blistur is playing, you are in for a treat. This 3 man band can cover everything from Black Sabbath to Weezer. Great musicians.

During football season this is one of the few bars where you can almost always find your game on one of the TV's and have a place to view it.

The specials throughout the week are very good and the wait staff is very attentive. If you like a trivia or a game of video golf you will enjoy the big screen Golden Tee game in the bar or the many options to play trivia inside the bar or on the patio.

All in all this is a family friendly sports bar with great food, cold beer, full liquor bar, excellent daily specials and surprisingly good live music on Wednesdays.

Hope you like it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo's Southwest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo's Southwest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo's Southwest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.