We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marker 32

Marker 32
14549 Beach Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32250
(904) 223-1534
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Marker 32 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,678 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San Pablo
Transit: There is a JTA bus stop only yards from the entry driveway to the restaurant.
St. Johns, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food is great. The selection is awesome, but the atmosphere is the best. I love it at Marker 32 for its incredible variety.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    52
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hard Place To Leave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Try the oysters baked. Excellent presentation and great taste. The scollops were exceptional and the roast pork was in a delightful sauce making the brussel sprouts really enjoyable (which heretofore I believe impossible). The services was quick and well informed, and the prices were conservative. The only downside is the restaurant is hard to get to and even more difficult to leave. Drive with caution.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A Nice Place, But Not What We Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A nice restaurant on the water. We drove 20 minutes to get there from the Hilton Garden Inn in Ponte Vedra, and, honestly, the experience was not worth the drive. The acoustics are, to be blunt, awful. There is a constant cacaphony which makes it difficult to hear the person across the table from you. I had the Mayport shrimp - sadly, it was nothing to write home about. The breads were nice, the appetizers very good, the service was excellent, the drinks were OK. After reading the TA reviews, I expected much more than what we got. To be fair, three out of 12 of our group loved the place. Four thought it was very good, and the remaining 5 shared my opinion. If it were just up to me, this restaurant gets a very generous 3 stars. I give it four due to the opinions of my companions - perhaps I should have ordered what they did.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good but loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our meal at Marker 32 was good but the noise level was so high we could not hear one another talk. We were a party of 4 & had trouble hearing each other over the noise. Our meals were good. The Mayport shrimp was good but not excellent. Their bread is excellent as is the warm spinach salad. Out wait staff was attentive. However, due to the high noise factor we probably will not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stick with What They're Good At”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I went to Marker 32 for dinner with work colleagues. The atmosphere was nice, with new agey-type music and low lighting...until some presumably local patrons wanted to watch the presidential debate. Music turned down, Romney/Obama turned up. Other than that, service was great. I had the warm spinach salad, which was great, but what wouldn't be with bacon and cheese? I also had pork osso bucu, which must have been for them an experiment gone awry. It apparently is not on their standard menu. It looked good, but was gristly and a bit hard to chew. Hence the recommendation for them to stick with what they are good at, which might be fish. The hand apple pie for dessert was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marker 32 also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Marker 32? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marker 32, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.