We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marker 32

Marker 32
14549 Beach Boulevard, Jacksonville, FL 32250
(904) 223-1534
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Marker 32 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,678 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San Pablo
Transit: There is a JTA bus stop only yards from the entry driveway to the restaurant.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This restaurant was a regular for us for a long time, but over the years has gotten much worse. The food isn't bad, but it isn't as good as it once was. I've seen portions get smaller and it is definitely not cheap. When we first started going the service was stellar, but that too has gone downhill. It could be that we've just gone on off nights, but consistency is the mark of a great restaurant and this place no longer has it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    52
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville, fl
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nice "anniversary" or "big deal" restaurant. Very nice atmosphere, excellent seafood. Plenty of creative dishes for the foodies.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Very Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

food was good but not for the price. I wanted some of the pecan slices they give you at the end of your meal. They didnt sell it by slice so they gave me some in a to go box and charged me $8. would have told them to keep it if i knew it would be that much.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“best food in jacksonville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

what else i can say the minute you step in marker 32 you know your in for a great experience. My favorite of all times is the broil fresh oysters top with creamy spinach,bacon,sun dried tomatoes,with hints of sherry and dijon mustard and some other delicious ingredients.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, FL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Tasty, Overly Rich Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

It's easy to drive past this restaurant which is not visible from Beach Blvd and has an inconspicuous sign that is easily missed, but lots of people apparently know the restaurant is there because at 8 PM on Thursday night when we arrived, the place was full.

The food is remarkably good! I had the Stfi Salad (arugula, candied pecans, blue cheese, and peaches with sorghum vinaigrette). It had spectacular flavor. It was very rich, really too rich. I would have liked it better with more greens and fruit and less candied pecans. I split the salad with my companion. I couldn't have eaten it all myself. As it was, I saved some of it for dessert. That's how sweet and rich it was (I've never saved salad for dessert before!)

The appetizer of six broiled oysters (with bacon, picaroon Romano, spinach, and sun dried tomatoes) were the best oysters I've had since having oysters Rockefeller at Locke-Ober in Boston years ago! These Marker 32 broiled oysters had great flavor. They were also very, very rich.

There is a view of boats and the Intracoastal. Staff are nice. Prices are moderately expensive for Jacksonville. Nice place for a date. Suggest reservations.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marker 32 also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Marker 32? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marker 32, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.